Sign in to follow this  
orcinus

Valve declares WIndows 8 "a catastrophe for PC", talks about migrating games to Linux

http://www.slashgear.com/gabe-newell-of-valve-windows-8-a-catastrophe-25240280/

http://www.zdnet.com/valve-windows-8-is-a-catastrophe-for-pcs-7000001634/

Apparently already started working on migrating some games to Linux.

Primary issue is the apparently mandatory (at least in some W8 versions) inclusion of a Windows Store 'monopoly', for sales via which M$ will rip off 30% of the purchase price.

I think that could fall foul of EU competition laws, though fortunately I am I am not a lawyer,

mine too. I'm sure that win8 would be a good OS for mobile devices but I can't imagine working with it. Win7 introfduced some very nive features that made it more productive (imho the best OS to date) and now comes this...

I guess M$ just see this as a way to make more cash by placing their store app and similiar stzff right on your new Desktop.

Windows 8 is not so different from 7. If anything, Windows 8 runs a lot better than Windows 7. Yes the new start screen is weird for non-tablet PC's, but you spent most of your time in desktop anyway. How many times do you guys use the start menu during the day?

Gabe's problem with Windows is that it's taking a more controlling approach to how PC applications are distributed with the "Windows Store". They even "closed" the ARM version of Windows 8 so that you can only install apps from Windows store. It's a threat for Valve's Steam business, and they do not like it.

Gabe's problem with Windows is that it's taking a more controlling approach to how PC applications are distributed with the "Windows Store". They even "closed" the ARM version of Windows 8 so that you can only install apps from Windows store. It's a threat for Valve's Steam business, and they do not like it.

It's a threat to users, too, mind.

wait,does that mean that I wont be able to install any programm I want? Like steam