Sign in to follow this  
tophe

What do you prefer?

I'm just starting out learning to make addons.

I've been toying with SketchUp to make buildings, but it seem

hard to be able to optimize them for o2 in there..

So I'm going to learn to medel properly.

SO.. what do you prefer? Using 3D studio Max and importing

to o2, or do you always use o2?

I use 3DS MAX for all modelling, mapping and skinning purposes with the exception of selections, which are an OFP/ArmA specific job, so O2 is required.

I use o2 for everything. Its the only program I've ever used, and ever needed to use for 3d modelling, so I've not bothered learning any other programs. I suppose this is very short-sighted as what happens when (if) I turn away from OFP/ArmA, O2 wont serve me very well if I want to go into, modding for HL2 for example. But thats just the way it is.

3DS Max. thumbs-up.gif

It's good for you.

Abs

I use milkshape for modelling and texturing... with the help of 3dsmax for boolean operations, pre-render and final exportation in .3ds and after of course.. o2 for the required operations.

I find milkshape more pratical and lighter for low poly modelling than 3dsmax...

Believe me, it isn't. I used Milkshape before I switched to max. Max beats it. But milkshape is a good learning program.

O2 only here

Like I am going to spend 3000$ or whatever 3dsmax is to make free addons. sif

MehMan, you underestimate milkshape... making some nice render of highpoly model is one thing.. but having a working low poly textured model ingame is another thing...

By the way.. the software used is not the most important... the skill you have with is the key smile_o.gif

i use oxygen because it is free

3ds max costs in PL 5000 euro or more while man earns 200-400 eu/month

also i try not to use pirated and stolen software

so i do all in Oxygen