Sign in to follow this  
redarmy

Worth getting ArmA2?

I am still quite new to arma.

Arma 3 was my 1st in the series,and i can love it for what it is-the best mil game iv ever played.

I frequently watch youtubers like dyslexci and say to myself, "most of his arma2 vids are much better than arma3".

Why? Is it that thing called ACE? Or something else.

Anyway,i only play single player.In arma3 the performance when in combat is terrible for me,EVERY OTHER MINUTE I HAVE 100FPS!!But on combat with simply 32 vs 32 ai lets say,i go down to about 20fps. This is on altis i will add.

My question is,is arma2 (with its best mods) still better than arma3,and better on performance.

Can i do more with arma2 editor/script/mod wise?

Will it be worth it.

Any thoughts most welcome as i know 99% reading this probably came from arma2.

Thanks

Arma 3 is far better than A2 in everything except on MP performance (for now...) and mod (also for now). Yes, ACE, at least for me, do make a great difference in gameplay so that might be it.

But if you like SP, there is a shitload of content on A2+OA+DLCs.

Well ARMA II: Combined Operations is only 20€, so it won't hurt to try it. Performance wise well...it's ArmA, all ArmA games have some horrible fps drops sometimes. The things you see from Dyslexci are hard to experience without being a member of a clan or community that organizes these events. But just to play the campaigns and the amount of custom missions this game has is probably worth the 20€.

Arma 3 is better performance-wise then Arma 2 while having better visuals. At least on my PC.

we're about to re-launch unsung vietnam mod for arma2, and BIS just released the final patch for the game too, so it's a great time to try it out as we're now all theoretically on the same page

Arma 2 has a lot more user-made content. what we have in Arma 3 is nothing compared to how many mods there are for A2.