Sign in to follow this  
BLSmith2112

College Life goin down the tubes?

Something is happening to me, it's really quite saddening and aggravating.

In high school, I graduated 39th in my class out of 300 students. A 3.8GPA, and high honors. Come college, first semester I manage to sink a 3.4GPA.. Now this semester, I am dropping a required math class, and picking up easy classes to keep the 'full time insurance' coverage under my parent's plan.

My exam's show how well I am doing. 66% in PC Programming 1. 62% in Criminal Justice. 19% in Math. Compaired to last semesters 96% in Programming. 84% in English and 92% in Math. My classes have been mushed together from a 5 day school week to a 2 day school week.

My grades are slipping, I'm staying in for tutoring, I'm working as hard as I can, but I am not understanding anything. I'm falling behind and fear the worst. I've started to admire the other kids in college for the work they somehow can understand. Me, I'll be told the information, understand it, then forget it 1 minute later.

It's turning more and more into a "why should I be here" experience. Than a "college" experience. Anyone been in a tough spot like this? I'm even staying up till 1am on a night when I have to be at work in 4.5 hours..

Vik

- Oh, and just to save the time: It takes me over an hour to get to school, and costs 10+ for parking, 10+ fot food, and I make only 90 a week. Spend 40 on gas. I'm always broke. Going to school 5 days in a row is something I cannot merely afford.

- I don't smoke/drink/druginize anything.

Dude, a good advise for you.

Instead of studying up until late etc. Go up an hour early and take a swim in your local swimmingpool, or go take a run for 30 minutes. Get home, take a shower and go to school. I will promise you it helps on your concentration abilities.