Sign in to follow this  
cl10k

GAZ 3937 Vodnik

Hi everyone. this is one of my first attempts in modeling lowpoly for opf. Its a russian "jeep" maybe you can even call it a small troopcarrier.

i am working in maya so there are some problems in exporting 3ds files to oxygen but i think i can manage that (thanks to lotekk).

As i said i am a newbie in  opf- and lowpolymodeling, therefore the model maybe is to detailed in some parts but i will decide whether to fix that or not after i found a way to see the model ingame. also it will take some time (years???) till i found out about all those special opf-modeling-scripting-things so please be patient.

http://img294.imageshack.us/img294/6329/vodniktest26sd.jpg

looks really nice mate! i always have been waiting for such a vehicle!

Looks very good so far and the Vodnik has been requested for ages.

Keep it up! thumbs-up.gif

I don't know what your poly budget is, but you could probably lose a few polies around the corners of the tree-bar and the recesses in the bumper. You could then add equipment and polygons to the tires. I think that would be more effective. Those recesses would be a good place for texture detail. I guess it depends on what you think is important. I don't know what the actual vehicle looks like, but if it's not so blocky, you might think about bevelling some of those edges. Silouette readability is very important. If the silouette has hard edges but your subject doesn't, the edges will stand out.

Also, how did you get those curved contours on the windows and their frames? Their doesn't seem to be any polies there.

All in all very good. I'm not familiar with the vehicle you are modelling, but this looks pretty good.

hey plaintiff, thanks for your suggestions. i am not sure about the polylimit i think i will go for 3500 tris.

does anyone know how many tris the modern humvee-addons have??