I am pretty new to scripting and Arma 3 mission editing in general.
I want to create a template mission that I can copy code from and such for future missions, I am currently trying to figure out spawning AI with triggers and have made a separate post on that topic.

I want to implement a headless client into this mission to improve performance, I want to avoid using mods if possible and would rather keep everything vanilla. I have looked into the Headless Client

wiki page and many videos and guides, however I am still pretty much at square one trying to figure this out.

Essentially what I want is for AI spawned via triggers, throughout the mission to be automatically transferred to the headless client if one is available, otherwise to continue normally if there is no headless client available.
I would also like to know how to setup the headless client in general, my smooth brain does not understand the explanations given on the wiki page for the Headless Client, a step by step explanation would be very useful to me.

Thanks any help is appreciated. ❤️

• Like 1

Gmate, I'm kind of in the same boat as you. I've been making and hosting missions for years now and know that when things get busy in a mission, triggers don't fire, ai won't act as they should etc.

The one thing I've always wondered is, does HC only work on dedicated servers or can they work in a hosted session?

10 minutes ago, fawlty said:

Gmate, I'm kind of in the same boat as you. I've been making and hosting missions for years now and know that when things get busy in a mission, triggers don't fire, ai won't act as they should etc.

The one thing I've always wondered is, does HC only work on dedicated servers or can they work in a hosted session?

There is no reason HC can't be client of an hosted MP mission. The question is just a little bit weird because, if you can have a Headless Client, why don't you give it the status of server, so dedicated?

• Like 2