Sign in to follow this  
bangtail

Is isServer broken

I've been trying to get several different things working on my dedi and when I use

if (!isServer) exitWith {};

to restrict certain things to the server, they just don't happen at all.

I even tried using someone else's aircraft spawn (located here : http://forums.bistudio.com/showthread.php?t=85207&highlight=destroy+number ) script that uses the same syntax. Runs fine in the editor but when I put it on the dedi, the aircraft doesn't spawn.

My major problem is that I am HALOing into my objective and I am getting multiple parachutes. I tried using the isServer to get rid of this but when I use it, I just end up in the water.

I'm not a code expert so it may be on my end. If anyone has any suggestions, they would be appreciated.

Well, I can tell you isServer is not broken. The reason it works in the editor is because you are the server and the player when hosting.

How are you calling your script? In some cases, it's better to call stuff locally on the client. However, if you are spawning stuff, you are correct in only executing it on the server. Also make sure you are using local variables.

a) That should work, however exitwith was not designed to exit scripts. Correct way to restrict something to server only is:

if (isserver) then {
 //do stuff on server only
};

b) There are HALO scripts from BIS already, just call them to everyone that needs one.

c) It makes a lot easier to help when you show your script etc instead of just asking something vague.

tcp got it correct, with local hosting you are both player and server.

What you are looking for is:

if ( !((isDedicated) && (isServer)) ) exitWith {};

tcp got it correct, with local hosting you are both player and server.

if ( !((isDedicated) && (isServer)) ) exitWith {};

Thanks guys, I'll give that a try :)

Eth

a) That should work, however exitwith was not designed to exit scripts. Correct way to restrict something to server only is: