Sign in to follow this  
dsm

A DUNDERHEADS GUIDE PLEASE!!!!!!!!&#33

OK. Is there any chance of some REAL in depth info of how to get into map making, either as a thread or Biki. I've only used selfcontained progs before like Hammer(nice but tiny,...and boring gameplay). I see Unreal editor has been used by someone else as well. The thing is I've no experience with the Windows side of all this, eg copying .file types etc that I haven't a clue what they do, and using .txt files (I didn't know .txt files could be used to program with. What is the language?) etc. A run down of the file types, their job and how they were made would be a start. Great fan of OFP (awesome game, totally underrated)but never edited it so I'm technically years behind. A project layout would be good too, showing the progs you need before you start, and what parts you will be tackling with them. An example of the process involved in say getting to a 3D landscape from an O.S. map. I know it sounds like moronic stuff but there must be loads of people totally thrown by Visitor.

Anyway Santa, I know there's a lot of boys&girls with long letters of selfish want and greed, but just a few off the list would be great xmas_o.gif

Much of what you asked is detailed in the Tutorial for Visitor3 ? thread, although the thread got a bit out control, so you will have to read carefully through it from page 1.

I, along with many others are working on a tutorial for Noobs, and there are many popping up all over the place. Also, the BI Wiki/Manual is getting updated as more and more people are figuring out the nuts and bolts of visitor.

Programs I use:

Vistor 3

MicroDEM - Converts DEM (digital elevation maps) to grayscale

Terragen - Terrain editing and manipulation program (import to Visitor)

Notepad++ - Text editor for editing multiple text documents

GIMP 2 - Free image editor

TexView2 - BIS official tool (including pal2pac)

Structure:

P:\Ca\MyIsland\

P:\Ca\MyIsland\data - Textures (layers/scenes)