Sign in to follow this  
=jps=sgtrock

What licenses should be used for our work?[url

I'm posting this in Mission Editing and Scripting even though it's not a technical issue per se. However, it is a subject primarily of interest only to modders.

I'm just getting into some basic mission editing after a long hiatus. I did some scripting for OpFlash the first year or so after it came out. I've done a little scripting for system admin work since then, but haven't published anything for general consumption in a very long time.

Since my time with OpFlash, my role at work has forced me to become much more cognizant of what licenses software packages run under. I've become far, FAR more careful about using software only in the way that the creator intended. That includes everything from game licenses, to Microsoft's onerous End User License Agreement (EULA), to freeware, to shareware, to open source software, to you name it. I sometimes think I've seen every variation in licenses ever done. Even so, I don't claim I read and understand every clause in every license. At least I try. huh.gif

Anyhow, it's become pretty clear to me that much if not virtually all of the user created work that's floating around out there for games has no clear license for use. That's a shame, really. It makes it tough for me to use that material from an ethical standpoint.

This issue shows up here relatively often. As I search the forums here and elsewhere, I keep running into posts from people talking about needing to get permission to run certain scripts, or people who are complaining that they found a model with the attributions removed, etc. I've also found it difficult to impossible to find a published license for any user created material. This means that unless you explicitly ask the creator, you are using their work illegally. As I implied in the paragraph above and far more important in my mind, you are using their work unethically as well.