owmyeye

Working on an 'open world' insurgent mission

I'm working on making a mission for Stratis which is very un-structured and open, so you can actually go your own direction and adapt to the situation. I guess I was a bit inspired after playing a little bit of the Ravage zombie mod (if you can make sense of that).

I thought about how it would be good to plan ambushes and raids on a superior force to do damage, collect equipment, etc. The idea would not be to 'win', as in wipe out the enemy or take over, but to stay alive and to keep the small rebel unit supplied. 

It will be set on the entire of Stratis (instead of Altis or Tanoa, due to system load). I have already started to beef up towns though with more buildings in the editor.

Thing is, I'm not a programmer and am only a basic to moderate level mission editor. However to help me along, I will be using the MCC Sandbox mod to create the dynamic enemy AI behaviour, so they will patrol and also react to my attacks (so send reinforcements to the scene) and so on.

I'm thinking about making a bunch of small 'missions' to keep it all going too. As in, I will make some supply depot bases, which can be then raided for supplies. It won't say "you win, yay", but instead a 'win' will be loading up a truck and making off with guns and ammo before the superior enemy reinforcements arrive. I will then stash that in my hidden base to use from then on. See the alternative would be actually running out of ammo. That would be called 'losing'.
Another mission idea is to clear small towns of local police to win extra squad members in return. This would be recreating if a rebel force impressed the locals and also met them face to face to say 'come with me to the woods to fight'. Again this would be 'winning' because I will be losing men slowly, so none left would be considered 'losing'.