Sign in to follow this  
Gunseraph

Area boundaries ?

I'm a newbie at editing and sadly, i couldn't find anything on this topic : how do i set area boundaries for a (multiplayer)mission ? Something that will prevent players from wandering too far in a deathmatch map for example. Thanks in advance smile_o.gif

First off you need limit the gaming area with square triggers that put a frame around your desired game region.

Adjust the size aspects of the triggers accordingly and choose "rectangle" from trigger setup.

Following options in the trigger setup screen have to be selected:

Activation: Anybody

Repeatedly

Present

In OnActivation field of the trigger use the following code:

"_x SetDammage 1" foreach thislist

This will kill anyone who steps into the trigger zone.

Make sure you set up some warning signs in the map or use markers that cover the deathzone on the map as people are not very happy to be killed without being warned.

Killing player without warning is rude. Why not give them a minor hit at certain time intervals + a warning saying that he should turn back? Sounds exactly like BF2, but it works.

Placing an inner trigger ring smaller than the killring with a hint or message displayed to the player in question or public is no big deal at.

Still, I guess Gunseraph will benefit from actually trying that himself. You don´t learn much if you got every bit prechewed.

Instead of killing the player, why not move him someplace when he crosses the line, for example on top of a building? It may add some new levels to your deathmatch as the border can be used to your advantage in some situations. However, warning someone isn't necessary when you have warning signs or road cones marking the area.

Why don't you just setup mine fields around the outer perimeter and use natural out of bounds areas such as cliffs or the ocean?