Sign in to follow this  
Tankbuster

getVariable and setVariable. What are they for?

As an old school programmer, I struggled a little with OOL but have made some progress, but now I see that using getVariable and setVariable, we can store variables on objects.

So, my question is, and please don't link me to the biki page which I've read, what is object variable space and why would one use it over global or public variables?

While we're on the subject of scope, I assume a client can use getVariable to retrieve the value of a variable from an object, work with it, and put it back using setVariable, then another client (or even the server) can come along and see the new value? Is this what these functions are all about? Getting around the tricky bits of locality?

Is there even more to it than this? What else can they do?

You use object variables to store values pertaining the object.

Say you create a weapon overheating system. Why would you create many global variables for each unit,

with probably overhead of determining dynamic variable names and what not, while you can just store the overheating value on the units themselves?

You could also create a hash (most basic representation: 2 arrays, one with keys, and one with values), but that's all overhead and are rather a 'workaround' for when more advanced coding is unavailable, like in OFP :D

Object Variables allow you to more logically store the information state for various objects, and also use a namespace that gets deleted when the object in question gets deleted.

Just like global variables, it's up to you to make them public, thats what the third value is for: _object setVariable ["someVar", _someValue, true];

If you need to make it public, depends on your requirements / intentions.

Edited by Sickboy
  • Thanks 1

You pretty much nailed it.