Sign in to follow this  
BS-er

Original Carrier Command was a true inspiration

Ever since I became hooked on the original Carrier Command back in 1989, I've been on the lookout for a game like it, but that has scaled with the times. Sadly there hasn't been anything that remained true to the style of the original. Hostile Waters was not bad, but it was no Carrier Command of its time. That game and the Battlezone PC games were about as close as anything has come to the interesting combination of command and action.

I'm a budding indie game developer, and I've been greatly inspired by the original Carrier Command, as well as the Battlezone games, and it shows in my work. It's good to see that there are others who see the brilliance and depth in games that let you be a part of the action, but also to influence the events of a larger, nonlinear game world.

AV8B Harrier Assault by Domark was another classic along the same lines as Carrier Command that also had the command and action element. I would love to see a remake of this game by BIS.

BS-er: Glad to hear someone else mention Battlezone. I only ever played Battlezone II, it interfered with my high school final exams back in 2000. It was a great game, and was underappreciated and not well known.

Also loved the orginal CC, it was great.

ive got BZ2 still installed, i give it a go now and then. Runs really good on my i7 :P