Sign in to follow this  
snkman

What do i have to do? Script don't work on Server!

Hey guy's,

well i created a very big MOD and i always tested it in the Editor and on a local hosted MP session and it always works very well.

Now i tested it on a Server and nothing works.... The Debug ( Hint ) messages didn't work too....

help.gif Someone can give me a hint what do i have to pay attention for to make sure a script is working on a Server?

If I was a real estate agent I'd probably say it like this "location, location location." smile_o.gif

But seriously SNK it sounds like you are running into problems with the locality of where your scripts are running.

I found after weeks, actually months, of testing my revive script that some scripts need to be run locally on the clients machines and some on the server.  In fact I found that in some instances, some local scripts that only affect individual players need to be run locally on all clients machines so that there isn't desync between what each player sees happening in game.

You probably already know this but some ways to make scripts local to certain machines is to use code like <table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tr><td>Code Sample </td></tr><tr><td id="CODE"> if (local server) then ...

<table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tr><td>Code Sample </td></tr><tr><td id="CODE">if (local player) then ... or

<table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tr><td>Code Sample </td></tr><tr><td id="CODE">if (local _unit) then ... .

Somethings to remember are that a players avatar/character is local to the players machine, AI grouped with the player who is their leader is also local to the players machine and AI not grouped with players is local to the server as are respawning or empty vehicles.