champ-1

Bounding box size from config

I'm new to Arma config files and still confused about many things, so I have a question:

Basically I want to know size of the object before I spawn it. This is similar to the command "boundingBox" but from config files. It seems there is no documentation on this case. At least I haven't found anything.

Also, I'm looking for a way to know how many building positions has given building without having actual object on the map.

Alternatively, I'm thinking of running createVehicleLocal and using some of the commands to get the information I need, but it's not ideal really.

i think both boundingbox and buildingpos are based on the actually model being searched. i could be wrong but i don't think these informations can be extracted any other way. it might work with createsimpleobject, if you want to do it in the cheapest way possible. but only testing will give you that info.

you could cache the data at mission start. it could become quite heavy though, if you need it for all vehicles.

16 minutes ago, bad benson said:

i think both boundingbox and buildingpos are based on the actually model being searched. i could be wrong but i don't think these informations can be extracted any other way. it might work with createsimpleobject, if you want to do it in the cheapest way possible. but only testing will give you that info.

you coudl cache the data at mission start. you could become quite heavy if you need it for all vehicles.

Yeah, thats what I thought.

But I think createVehicleLocal better since it doesn't sync across clients in multiplayer.

How many different objects do you have? You can always generate your own config file of sizes for all models in the game once and then use it.

53 minutes ago, killzone_kid said:

How many different objects do you have? You can always generate your own config file of sizes for all models in the game once and then use it.