Sign in to follow this  
nightsta1ker

Realism VS. Arcade style fun

Hello everyone, I am new to this forum and this is my first post.

Just a little background before I get started: I am a real world helo pilot/mechanic with 10 years military experience. I am also an avid gamer/simmer. I have been a fan of ArmA since it's inception and was a fan of OFP before that.

I have always been intrigued by the flyable helicopters in ArmA and was hoping that more focus would be put on flight model and cockpit details in the future. Needless to say I find the prospect of what Take On Helicopters could become very exciting. I can tell you that this game is generating alot of interest, curiosity, and the usual skepticism in the helicopter (and helicopter simming) communities. There is a definite lack of helicopter games out there. There always has been. They are difficult to fly, the missions are widely varied, and unless you get to blow some shit up, most people are not interested. Historically, helicopter games, when they come out, are either too intense for players to enjoy unless they are hardcore simmers (DCS Blackshark comes to mind) or they are way too arcade (which may sell better to the masses, but severely disapoints the helicopter community that has been hoping for a holy grail for decades).

I see this possibly being a good balance of both. I am definitely hoping for extremely realistic flight dynamics and mission activities. Of course, making the game too realistic will definitely be a turn off to the majority of gamers. The solution to this would be a sliding scale of realism ranging from ArmA like docile behavior to the extreme touchiness of real helicopters.