Sign in to follow this  
CarlGustaffa

Are NVG sparkle fx (TV grain/noise) inversed?

In vanilla Arma while wearing NVGs, you can observe that the dark colors get to have "all the noise", while the bright colors remain completely noiseless (when post processing is enabled).

I'm no expert on NVGs or signal processing, but logic suggests that the part which is amplified the most get to have most of its noise contents also amplified.

Now, the noise effect doesn't really illustrate the actual sparkling going on, but you can with a little bit of imagination :)

It does appear to me that the builtin effect (which we cannot change afaik) uses something like:

_gen3grain = [ 0.4, -1, 0.80, 0.73, 0.00, true ];

instead of

_gen3grain = [ 0.4, -1, 0.80, 0.00, 0.73, true ];

In vanilla game the effects of this isn't too obvious (but they're still there), but when i.e. ACE let us have gain control on the NVG (by disabling HDR and letting us have control over it) it means that the more gain you give it, the less noise is seen. Increasing gain would increase the already existing levels of noise, not removing it.

If this logic is false, please correct me. This "bug" is based on what I'd expect, not based on stuff I "know". The logic behind it may i.e. be that much available light doesn't need so much amplifying (if it's even dynamic), hence only the dark colors get the noise.

Before I make a ticket out of this "bug", I would like to know more. I don't want to report a "bug" that isn't one, and fix something that didn't need fixing :)

If memory serves me. Nightvision goggles are basically like little digital cameras, and with all camera sensors, you're gonna get more noise in lower light parts of an image, this is especially true with sensors that are not that all powerful, as some lower resolution goggles may be. Color information, even in monotone, turns to shit when the sensor cannot process the color black very well.