RicardoLew

Help with a script to open a door when the player is near it!

Im still new to the scripting of Arma 3, and im trying to make a simple script where the player get near a house door and it opens.

I got this so far: if (position player isEqualTo [house,[2.5,-1.5,0]]) then {house animate ["door_1_rot",1]};

I dont know how to handle a position with the vector of the house where the door is located, maybe someone can help me with this?

9 hours ago, RicardoLew said:

Im still new to the scripting of Arma 3, and im trying to make a simple script where the player get near a house door and it opens.

I got this so far: if (position player isEqualTo [house,[2.5,-1.5,0]]) then {house animate ["door_1_rot",1]};

I dont know how to handle a position with the vector of the house where the door is located, maybe someone can help me with this?

I assume house is a single specific building as you are using a global variable. So why don't you place a trigger repeatable player present with

house animate ["door_1_rot",1] in activation field and house animate ["door_1_rot",0] in deact field ?

Note: The relative position from an object is given by commands like modelToWorld or worldToModel, depending on final aim.

Never compare two positions with isEqualTo (there is more chance to win a lottery). Use distance range instead. player distance house < 15m (be careful you player with the center of each model).

If you need a script for any door of any house, it's different, of course.

test this one:

0 = [] spawn {  
  while {true} do {  
    _houses = nearestObjects [player, ["house"], 50];  
    if (count _houses > 0) then {  
      _house = _houses select 0;  
      private _intersects = [];  
      {  
        _intersects = ([cursorObject, _x] intersect [ASLToATL eyepos player, (screentoworld [0.5,0.5])]);   
        if (count (_intersects select 0) > 0) exitwith {  
          _intersects  
        }   
      } forEach  ["FIRE","GEOM","VIEW"];