Sign in to follow this  
Jakalth

Vindicator vtol fighter

Hello everyone. Newbie allert. wink.gif hehe

Anyways, a friend of mine has me interested in moding OF and I had an idea for a non-exsisting aircraft. The basic concept is based on the Orca fighter from the Command&Conquer series of games but I tried to make it unique looking. It's basic design is mostly complete but no weapons, landing gear, or cockpit have been added in yet. I would like to know what you think of this design and if there is anything noticable that could use modifying.

Vindicator.jpg

This is my first attempt at making an OF model so I don't really know how many polygons can be used or what all is needed in the model.(like the inside of the cockpit??) It currently has 957 polygons. Also, is the 16 blade fans(each one being a seperate piece), in the engines, too much for OF?

er...200,000 polygons....maybe on a screen, but per vehicle you are looking at 2-4000 for the first lod as maximum, then dropping off in about five stages down to 100 polygons

Thats actually good to know.  Thanks. smile.gif  one thing, how detailed would the cockpit need to be to fit in with whats already available?  I was thinking of equiping it with a pair of single barrel 20mm cannons and some form of anti-armor missile.  This should add a little more detail the the fighter, which is actually more of a ground attack then an air to air fighter.

Do you think it would look alright to give it non-retractable landing gear?  Or should I find a place to add in recesses for fully retractable landing gear?

Its kind of interesting since I only have the demo of operation flashpoint at the moment.

from the looks of it you want it to act like a helicopter? with that simulation you can only have a static landing gear, probably better than two 20mm would be some kind of gatling gun as ofp only allows for one gun 'barrel' on a model in ofp, you could also allow it to spin creating a novelty in the addon