waitumus

Custom tree model problems

Hi there, I am quite new to modding for arma and am currently in the process of making my own island, and have decided to undertake the process of making my own trees to better fit the landscape, not knowing of the frustration that awaits. I searched google far and wide for the past 2 days looking at various tutorials for importing custom models into ARMA and have just gotten more and more confused. At the moment i have my tree models ready and have textured them in blender. This is the point where i have hit a brick wall, when opening the models in the Object Builder, i can put the textures on all of the parts of my tree and in the buldozer i can see the textures, but when i then load that tree in the Terrain Builder and go into buldozer through that, it says it can't load the textures. I have no idea about coding and such and so I don't really know what i am doing when it comes to configs and RVMATS, and every tutorial seems to have its own way of doing everything and it just makes me confused, so if someone could help a poor newbie get a tree into arma that would be great :) (ps i have tried the arma toolbox for blender but it doesnt seem to work on my computer)

You've picked pretty much the hardest kind of ARMA model to work on first; the way trees are drawn (including the textures) and how they are prepared for drawing at a distance is very different to ARMA vehicles, buildings and characters, and almost no-one in the modding community works on them.

The way to figure them out is by looking at the sample models provided by BIS while paying great attention to the details; however you won't get anything from that if you don't understand the basics of ARMA models (textures, materials, configurations and so on).