Sign in to follow this  
ColeMinor

Vietnam island - terrain question

Hi guys,

Im Drow, been gone for years, but i was the original founder of The Unsung Vietnam mod and I've been trying to get back into this modding thing for a couple years, since Arma2 came out basically.

I've decided to attempt to finally make a Vietnam island. Im a graphic designer and artist (I do this for a living) so im pretty confident that I can create a realistic asthetic and vibe (of the textures anyways, i need to learn a lot of other modding stuff tho), just trying to prioritize the things I see as most relevant to creating an island that I could create a campaign around and also play warfare games on it.

Im at work right now and just had a question about how large the vertexes of the ground terrain are. Basically I'm planning to do the tiered hillside rice paddies or rice fields, and I wondered if anyone knows how small they could be made?

Its hard to explain..

http://www.photoradar.com/files/imagecache/original_large/photos/users/jaimedormer/20090924-vietnamtrip-2024.jpg

in the above photo it shows a hillside terraced into fields, or tiers/levels. Im wondering if this can be accomplished on arma2 islands. Near the top the tiers are very small/short, near the bottom they are much bigger/longer, can either of these be done in wilbur or visitor? Or would each tier be like 50 meters above the lower one? How large would the tiers have to be made? I have been setting up my editing programs and havent gotten into the heightmapping yet so i thought I would ask you guys incase someone knows.

Its a hard question to explain, hopefully some of you understand what im asking and can help out.

thanks guys!

Drow

http://image.shutterstock.com/display_pic_with_logo/228133/228133,1288633569,3/stock-photo-vietnam-rice-paddy-on-the-mountain-near-sapa-65023321.jpg

http://www.eoearth.org/files/146401_146500/146444/sapa-_terraced_rice_paddy.jpg