Sign in to follow this  
phronk

Survival / Basic Needs Script

I'm starting to work on a mission that emphasizes the player character's need to survive off of scavenged food and water. However, I'm not very good at scripting. In fact, at best, I can only edit scripts and adjust them; I am not experienced enough to create my own yet. I've tried searching for good examples or templates I can at least base the script off of, but I've only come across two decent sources and they do not accomplish the system the way I'd like.

• Food Sources: Players would be able to obtain food items from carcasses of dead animals, inside of various buildings, and in other logical areas you'd probably scavenge for food.
  • Water Sources: Water would be obtainable at the base/edge of water locations (ocean, ponds, lakes, rivers, etc.), water tanks, water barrels, sinks, and of course water bottles.
  • Eating: The player will have an addAction to eat when they've obtained a food item from a food source.
  • Drinking: The player will get an addAction to fill their water bottle when near a water source. If bottle is filled, player will get addAction to drink.

I'm not quite sure if I'd need some kind of health points system for this to work with the hunger and thirst system to make sense. I might add ARP Items to the mission so I can use some of the items it adds for actual gameplay purposes, such as the food and drink items. It'd be great to get this system in the mission and have it work for multiplayer, but making scripts compatible with multiplayer is well beyond me...

If anyone can help, I'd be HUGELY grateful!

- Phronk

You may need to make a GUI and some other complex stuff for it, I can do some of the basics for you and make a system that would work.

first you need a variables script which will set up all the variables you need.

variables.sqf

thirst = 100;
hunger = 100;
inv_food = 0;
inv_drinks = 0;

You need some actions for the player to use food/drinks