Jump to content

Alpine_gremlin

Member
  • Content Count

    97
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Medals

Posts posted by Alpine_gremlin


  1. Update to this issue: Attempting to launch the server without mods yields the same error. There must be something missing from the core game addons. I will attempt to reinstall the update through steamcmd.

    Update: this did not fix the issue.

     

    Checking server rpt yields the following

    15:42:04 Warning Message: No entry 'bin\config.bin/CfgVideoOptions/Particles/Low.qualityLevel'.
    15:42:12 Warning Message: '/' is not a value
    15:42:12 Warning Message: No entry 'bin\config.bin/CfgVideoOptions/Particles/Normal.qualityLevel'.
    15:42:12 Warning Message: '/' is not a value
    15:42:12 Warning Message: No entry 'bin\config.bin/CfgVideoOptions/Particles/High.qualityLevel'.
    15:42:12 Warning Message: '/' is not a value
    15:42:12 Warning Message: No entry 'bin\config.bin/CfgVideoOptions/Particles/Normal.qualityLevel'.
    15:42:12 Warning Message: '/' is not a value
    15:42:12 Warning Message: No entry 'bin\config.bin/CfgVideoOptions/Particles/Low.qualityLevel'.
    15:42:12 Warning Message: '/' is not a value
    15:42:12 Warning Message: No entry 'bin\config.bin/CfgVideoOptions/Particles/Normal.qualityLevel'.
    15:42:12 Warning Message: '/' is not a value
    15:42:12 Warning Message: No entry 'bin\config.bin/CfgVideoOptions/Particles/Normal.qualityLevel'.
    15:42:12 Warning Message: '/' is not a value
    15:42:12 Warning Message: No entry 'bin\config.bin/CfgVideoOptions/Particles/High.qualityLevel'.
    15:42:12 Warning Message: '/' is not a value
    15:42:12 Warning Message: No entry 'bin\config.bin/CfgVideoOptions/Particles/High.qualityLevel'.
    15:42:12 Warning Message: '/' is not a value

     


  2. Hey guys,

     

    I went ahead and updated my group`s server executables today following the new update. Now when starting the server however I get the following error: No entry 'bin\config.bin/CfgVideoOptions/Particles/Low.qualityLevel'.

     

    I am able to click through the error via remote desktop connection and the server boots and functions properly for now, but did I miss something when updating the server? I have done it this way following a game update many times before and never encountered this. Any thoughts on this?


  3. Hi guys. I am currently working on a mission where I want to give the players M16A2s (NIArms or 3CB assets), but I would also like to give them a mounted flashlight since it is a night mission. Unfortunately, these models don`t have a rail system and therefore cannot mount said flashlights. Is there a way to give the rifle the ability to mount a light without creating a new asset?

     

    Thanks


  4. Hey guys I`m not sure if this is the correct place for this, but I wanted to add some custom voice sounds to play via the Zeus interface for a WW2 mission (Audio>Play sound). Unfortunately the sounds don`t appear to play while on a dedicated server environment. The sound preview works but when I place the sound module nothing plays. They work fine in local hosted MP. Does anyone know what I did wrong? The .pbo simply consists of the sounds folder and my config.cpp:

     

    class CfgPatches {
        class cust_ZeusSounds {
            author = "alpine";
            requiredAddons[] = {"A3_Sounds_F"};
            requiredVersion = 0.1;
            units[] = {"japanese1","japanese2","japanese3","japanese4","japanese5","banzai"};
            weapons[] = {};
        };
    };
    
    class CfgVehicles {
        class Sound;
        class japanese1: Sound {
            author = "alpine";
            scope = 2;
            sound = "japanese1_SFX";
            displayName = "Japanese 1";
        };
    	
    	class japanese2: Sound {
    	author = "alpine";
            scope = 2;
            sound = "japanese2_SFX";
            displayName = "Japanese 2";	
    	};
    	
    	class japanese3: Sound {
    	author = "alpine";
            scope = 2;
            sound = "japanese3_SFX";
            displayName = "Japanese 3";
    	};
    	
    	class japanese4: Sound {
    	author = "alpine";
            scope = 2;
            sound = "japanese4_SFX";
            displayName = "Japanese 4";	
    	};
    	
    	class japanese5: Sound {
    	author = "alpine";
            scope = 2;
            sound = "japanese5_SFX";
            displayName = "Japanese 5";	
    	};
    
    	class banzai: Sound {
    	author = "alpine";
            scope = 2;
            sound = "banzai_SFX";
            displayName = "Japanese Banzai";	
    	};
    };
    
    class CfgSFX {
        class japanese1_SFX {
            name = "Japanese 1";
            sounds[] = {"japanese1"};
            japanese1[] = {"\customSounds\sounds\jap1.ogg",1,1,400,1,10,10,10};
            empty[] = {"",0,0,0,0,0,0,0};
        };
    	
    	class japanese2_SFX {
            name = "Japanese 2";
            sounds[] = {"japanese2"};
            japanese2[] = {"\customSounds\sounds\jap2.ogg",1,1,400,1,10,10,10};
            empty[] = {"",0,0,0,0,0,0,0};
    	};
    	
    	class japanese3_SFX {
            name = "Japanese 3";
            sounds[] = {"japanese3"};
            japanese3[] = {"\customSounds\sounds\jap3.ogg",1,1,400,1,10,10,10};
            empty[] = {"",0,0,0,0,0,0,0};
    	};
    	
    	class japanese4_SFX {
            name = "Japanese 4";
            sounds[] = {"japanese4"};
            japanese4[] = {"\customSounds\sounds\jap4.ogg",1,1,400,1,10,10,10};
            empty[] = {"",0,0,0,0,0,0,0};
    	};	
    		
    	class japanese5_SFX {
            name = "Japanese 5";
            sounds[] = {"japanese5"};
            japanese5[] = {"\customSounds\sounds\jap5.ogg",1,1,400,1,10,10,10};
            empty[] = {"",0,0,0,0,0,0,0};
    	};
    	
    	class Banzai_SFX {
            name = "Japanese Banzai";
            sounds[] = {"banzai"};
            banzai[] = {"\customSounds\sounds\banzai.ogg",1,1,400,1,10,10,10};
            empty[] = {"",0,0,0,0,0,0,0};
    	};
    };
    
    class CfgSounds {
        class japanese1 {
            sound[] = {"\customSounds\sounds\jap1.ogg",0.5,1};
            titles[] = {};
        };
    	
    	class japanese2 {
            sound[] = {"\customSounds\sounds\jap2.ogg",0.5,1};
            titles[] = {};
    	};
    	
    	class japanese3 {
            sound[] = {"\customSounds\sounds\jap3.ogg",0.5,1};
            titles[] = {};
    	};
    	
    	class japanese4 {
            sound[] = {"\customSounds\sounds\jap4.ogg",0.5,1};
            titles[] = {};
    	};	
    		
    	class japanese5 {
            sound[] = {"\customSounds\sounds\jap5.ogg",0.5,1};
            titles[] = {};	
    	};
    		
    	class banzai {
            sound[] = {"\customSounds\sounds\banzai.ogg",0.5,1};
            titles[] = {};
    	};
    };

     


  5. Hiya folks just a quick question today.

    I would like to assign some ace variables to a vehicle asset I am modifying, namely:
    ace_vehicle_damage_hullDetonationProb (assigned under class hitTurret)

    ace_vehicle_damage_engineFireProb (assigned under class hitEngine)

    ace_vehicle_damage_turretDetonationProb (assigned under class hitTurret)

    Would defining these here work within the config.cpp?


  6. 7 hours ago, 7erra said:

    BIS_fnc_removeRespawnPosition takes two parameters. the first specifies whose respawn will be removed, the second one is the id of the respawn. I assume that you got respawn2 as a return value from BIS_fnc_addRespawnPosition so if you pass it as is to BIS_fnc_removeRespawnPosition then it will get removed from everyone that got the respawn position via your addRespawnPosition call. Instead you should only remove it from the player that died:

    
    [player, respawn2 select 1] call BIS_fnc_removeRespawnPosition;

     

     

    Hello mate, thanks for the reply! Unfortunately this doesn`t seem to have remedied the issue. Now it seems that the respawn point is not removed for anyone. I will attach the new behavior.

     

    First trip to respawn screen: 8eziXFD.png

     

    Second trip to respawn screen: VYeieRr.png

     

     

    If you are curious, this is what I have in my initPlayerLocal.sqf:

    execVM "handleSpectator.sqf";
    
    respawn1 = [playerSide,base,"FOB"] call BIS_fnc_addRespawnPosition;
    
    respawn2 = [playerSide,mhq,"MHQ"] call BIS_fnc_addRespawnPosition;

     


  7. Hello lads! I am currently working on a short script for life limited scenarios I run for my group. The idea is to allow them to select respawn points from the respawn screen but only allow for two lives. If they die twice, they must respawn at the base and cannot deploy in the field any longer. After their second respawn they are moved to spectator. There seems to be a problem on dedicated server however: the MHQ respawn point is not removed after the first respawn. When I, logged in as the group leader and server admin run through it however, it removes the MHQ spawn point for all even if they haven`t died yet. Code is below; does anyone have any ideas? I am guessing it likely has something to do with the function`s global effect.

     

    hint "First Life...";
    playerDeaths = 0;
    playerDiedOnce = false;
    playerDiedTwice = false;
    
    player addEventHandler ["Respawn", {playerDeaths = playerDeaths + 1}];
    
    while {true && !playerDiedOnce} do {
    	if (playerDeaths == 1) then {
    		hint "Second Life...";
    		player addEventHandler ["Killed", {respawn2 call BIS_fnc_removeRespawnPosition;}]; //respawn position is not removed after the first death; if the group leader/admin dies once however the position is removed for all
    		playerDiedOnce = true;
    	};
    	sleep 1;
    };
    
    waitUntil {playerDiedOnce};
    
    while {true && !playerDiedTwice} do {
    	if (playerDeaths == 2) then {
    		titleText ["You are out of lives. Now spectating...", "PLAIN"];
    		["Initialize", [player, [playerSide], true, true, true, true, true, true, true, true]] call BIS_fnc_EGSpectator;
    		playerDiedTwice = true;
    		[player] joinSilent grpNull;
    		player setPos position spectatorPos;
    	};
    sleep 1;
    };

     


  8. Hey guys so I`ve got a scenario set up that involves the respawning of certain vehicles at their starting point if they are destroyed. This seems to work for vehicles with low respawn times (30-60s), but for the heavier assets such as helicopters I wanted to there to be a more severe penalty for losing them, but when we played the scenario for hours they never respawned once. This issue is solved when I decrease the time, so is there a limitation in the module that prevents me from setting longer respawn times? Is there something I can do to circumvent this issue? My settings are linked: https://i.imgur.com/3zo8SwF.png


  9. 5 hours ago, pierremgi said:

    A good respawn vehicle should pass the name of the destroyed vehicle to the "re-spawned" one.  So, no need to add any loop.

    That makes sense, but the script no longer works when the vehicle is destroyed the first time. I`m guessing this is because it exits the original loop after failing the alive condition once?

    • Like 1

  10. Hi guys I`m trying to write a relatively simple MHQ script. I want it to run the loop while the MHQ is alive, but not when dead. I also have the MHQ on a respawn so I want the code to restart again when it respawns, but I`m unsue of how to do this. Can someone help me with what I have so far?

    if (alive mhq) then {
    while {alive mhq} do {
    	if (player distance satPhone <= 3) then {
    		player addAction ["Teleport to MHQ", {_this select 1 moveInCargo mhq}];
    		waitUntil {player distance satPhone > 3};
    		removeAllActions player;
    		};
    sleep 2;
    }
    else {waitUntil alive mhq};
    };

    What can I  do after the waitUntil that will have the loop start again?


  11. On 9/30/2019 at 10:15 AM, Grovesy57 said:

    Make sure you're doing a server exec in the debug console, a Local exec will be reverted automatically.

    Is this originally someone else's mission? If so it may have a code in place that keeps resetting the weather settings.

    Code was called from server exec.

     

    Nah its my own mission. There should be no code resetting the weather.


  12. Hey guys I`m trying to use fog effects during a snow mission to simulate heavy snow fall and reduced visibility. I`ve noticing some interesting behavior when using it however.

     

    I have attached a picture of my settings.

     

    On the dedicated server, for some reason, whenever I switch to Zeus, the fog disappears and fades to almost zero, but when I rejoin and resync with the server, the value is as it is set in the editor. With rain as well, it seemed that on my friend`s screen, there was no precipitation.

     

    When I try to set values manually in the debug console, the changes take effect, but then reset to zero again. Would anyone be able to explain this behavior?


  13. Hey guys, I`m trying to run a mission that I made on a dedicated server. Whenever I try to load it in the editor I get the following message when it opens: no entry 'bin\config.bin/CfgPatches.sud_m113'.

     

    When I export it as a .pbo and try to play it on a dedicated server, the same message pops up in system chat and I am booted to the role selection screen for a Vanilla escape mission. Does anyone know what the problem could possibly be here?

     

    Any ideas are appreciated!


  14. Hey guys its been a while since I`ve written any code for ArmA so I`m super rusty. Using the ACE mod, I`m trying to make it so that after an individual player dies twice, they are transferred to the spectator screen. The code seems really simple, so I`m not sure why it isn`t working. I`m not getting any script errors so is it just bad syntax?

     

    "handleSpectator.sqf" is called via initPlayerLocal.sqf:

     

    [[west], [east,civilian]] call ace_spectator_fnc_updateSides;
    [[0,1,2], []] call ace_spectator_fnc_updateCameraModes;
    [[], [allPlayers]] call ace_spectator_fnc_updateUnits;
    
    
    hint "First Life...";
    
    waitUntil {!alive player};
    sleep 5;
    
    hint "Second Life...";
    
    waitUntil {!alive player};
    
    [true] call ace_spectator_fnc_setSpectator;
    

     


  15. Heya guys! So for the past week or so I`ve been working on an MP mission that I intend to try on a dedicated server. I want the mission to end with a different "EndMission" depending on the player`s state. So say an indivdual died, but then the rest of his team completed all objectives, I`d want the alive players to recieve a different "victory" than anyone that died. I figured that using BIS_fnc_endMissionServer wouldn`t be the best option (though better for client sync) as all players would see the same ending type. Currently I am using the following code:

     

    waitUntil {!isNil "missionEndings"};
    _run = true;
    
    	if (missionEndings && player in escapeBoat) then {
    		"End1" call BIS_fnc_endMission;
    		_run = false;
    	};
    	
    	if (missionEndings && vehicle player != escapeBoat) then {
    		"playerLeftBehind" call BIS_fnc_endMission;
    		_run = false;
    	};
    	
    	if (missionEndings && !alive player) then {
    		"playerDeadbutTeamEscaped" call BIS_fnc_endMission;
    		_run = false;
    	};
    sleep 5;
    };

    Where "missionEndings" is a variable handed out to clients via a server-evaluated trigger. Is this a good method of doing this? Or does anyone have a better method? I am eager to learn if so!

     

    On a slightly related note: is declaring a variable via publicVariable a viable option on a dedicated server?

×