Sign in to follow this  
vasmkd

Making my 1st addon

Hi Guyz

I am totally new to this addon making stuff and have never tried it before. I want to start making my own addons and those videos gnat put up got me thinking.

For a 1st addon i want to put my favourite hunting rifle tikka M595 stainless all weather in 308 winchester into the game. Do u guyz think this would be hard as i'm a total noob to this?

I am pretty experienced in photoshop etc but i never tried 3d textures

Can i just put bis's cz scoped hunting rifle into editor and totally change textures and shape and ballistics n stuff...or is that not legal?

I would then try my favourite scrub gun a Marlin 1894SS in 44 mag

This is a pic i took of my favourite 2 guns (tikka top, marlin bottom)

P1020158.JPG

Edited by vasmkd

I guess the first question is: what skills do you have?

Have you modelled before? UV mapped? Textured?

Once you answer these, we can point you in the best direction to get started.

Abs

Only textured stuff in Photoshop. That's it...total noob willing to try something new as learning aint a problem but i need to be pointed in the right direction as i want to start somewhere and learn only what i need to learn. If i eventually get my Tikka to the addon phase id'e be stoked if i don't aleast i will know i tried ;).

I would think a rifle would probably be one of the easier playable things to start with...let me know if i'm wrong.

I have an interest in playing around with things and wether i succeed or not is not that important, just the challenge of trying to learn something new and keeping myself busy.

just watching vids where they imported already done 3d models and see how things were done in oxygen looked interesting and i found understanding them pretty simple too. i know creating a new 3d model with textures is a different story but i was hoping working off an existing model would be easier if it's legal to do so ofcourse