Hey there everyone,

I'll get to the point. I'm still pretty new to ArmA 3 Scripting and mission creating. I have a couple of these questions that maybe the Veteran community could answer.

I want to add custom images, unit patches, voice lines, etc etc etc. BUT. I am inexperienced in how to get them to work. I've looked on the community and the wiki but it doesn't seem to work in the way that I was hoping.

The questions.

- What scripting program is good?

- What programs would I need?

- Where can I find a way to insert my own custom made files into the game?

Hi @Doctor_Holliday 🙂

I have just posted something myself here and saw your post, so I thought I would give you a quick reply.   I am a veteran of scripting since OFP, although until the last month had not done any scripting for many years and am certainly not an expert.   I will start by saying that it is great that you have an interest in scripting and mission creating and will say that although it can be frustrating at times, it is also very satisfying when you create something that works how you want it to.

In answer to some of your questions:

- What scripting program is good?
I strongly recommend using Notepad++  for doing your scripting.  I use it with an SQF plugin to make it visually easy to type and edit code used for scripting.  You need to download the Notepad++ SQF Syntax Highlighting and Auto Completion plugin.  Old stuff used to be done using SQS format, but it is best to forget about that as all Arma stuff can use SQF.

- What programs would I need?
Well apart from Notepad++, as you are talking about custom voices etc., then you need a good freeware audio processing program.  I have not done that sort of stuff for a long time, but I used to use Audacity which I found did a lot of the work for me.