Sign in to follow this  
domcho

Need help with making my first addon (custom units)

Hello everyone. I decided to make my own addon for units. I have been searching forums and reading FAQs about addon making for almost 2 days now. I just want to ask a few things.

So, the addon that I want to make is simply units with custom camouflage uniforms. Nothing else. No vehicles, no weapons. I already saw how to do a basic retexture using a graphic editor program and then use setObjectTexture command but that's just changing the look on existing units.

So here is my first question: when making such addon, do I need to make my own custom unit in oxygen? Can I for example use BIS soldier sample and if I can (which I hope because I have no experience with drawing) how can I customize his looks. Basically what has been bothering me mostly is if I have the soldier (BIS sample) how can I configure the way he looks. I don't want him to have a pouch on his waist for example. My second question is about the PAA files containing the skins. Do I have to draw the greyscale myself? The sample one has too many things such as wraps and belt pockets and I don't want mine to have those. How do I know which part of the PAA file containing the camouflage is applied to what body part.

When I open up a randomskin_co.paa file there are camouflages all over the place and I don't know which goes where. How is it defined that the top right piece goes to the chest for example or the bottom left one goes to the leg(s)? Those paa pictures, rvmat files and their combination with oxygen are really, really confusing me. Also I read a few tutorials on how to apply the skin to existing model in oxygen but I wasn't able to do it.

Please note that I have 0 experience with oxygen and I have no clue on how to draw a human body (I watched Gnat's oxygen tutorials already), this is why I want to use a ready sample of a soldier and only edit minor things (if possible).