Sign in to follow this  
colinm478

AI chopper help?

Hey guys I have a complex one here for you. I am having my team move in during a night mission, but they are ambushed and forced to retreat. The enemy (AI) launches a search helicopter, (with spotlight on). I have been trying to figure out how to make them land near us on detection. I know how to set up the trigger and search, but how can I make them land near us?

We could be in a large area of space, so when it finds us it needs to know to land near us, so I can't just set a transport unload waypoint. Any ideas?

No promises, as I am a bit of a novice myself, but I'll try to take a whack at this tomorrow.

If any more experienced posters know how to do this, go ahead and reply, as, as I said, I am still relatively inexperienced, and may not be able to figure it out.

there are a few ways, but the biggest problem you will face is finding a position close enough to your team where the AI can actually land without crashing.

You might want to try this function for giving you a good position near your team:

landingPos= [[[getpos player, 50]]] call BIS_fnc_randomPos;

50 is the radius to search for, it gives back a random position that is not a building or on water (but it still isn't 100 fool proof)

Then you can tell the AI to land after, im not sure if code has changed since Arma 2, but this might work:

_helicopter move landingPos;

sleep 3;

while { ( (alive _helicopter) && !(unitReady _helicopter) ) } do
{
      sleep 1;
};

if (alive _helicopter) then
{
      _helicopter land "GET OUT";
};

note that you cant use while loop or sleep inside a trigger (in case you didn't know) but that would be the general gist of it.

there are a few ways, but the biggest problem you will face is finding a position close enough to your team where the AI can actually land without crashing.

You might want to try this function for giving you a good position near your team: