Sign in to follow this  
Allanp

Refueling with Jerry can problems. Trigger not attaching to vehicle.

Allo allo people,

I'm fairly new to scripting (but made some major strides by dissecting some missions) and I came to small standstill with a mission I've been working on. I've set a trigger up to set fuel on a car to 0. Now what I had planned was the player to find a jerry can and bring it over to the car to fill it up again.

I was thinking on setting up a trigger to check if the jerry can was within the trigger range (but I am not sure how to activate triggers on specialized objects, if this is even possible).

If there are any alternatives to this I am more than happy to hear.

------------

After some trial and error I got it working!

-----

And not so much anymore. I've set up an object and grouped it with a trigger. It shoots off a hint once it is detected in the area, now my problem comes when I attach the trigger to a vehicle, it doesn't want to fire out the OnAct commands for some reason. I'm stumped.

Trigger

Con: this

Onact : u1 setFuel 1; titleText ["Truck refueled","PLAIN"]; gas attachto [u1,[0,0,0]];

that is grouped up with a fuel can.

u1 refers to the vehicle, I also tested making the trigger extremely large. I also suspected that the trigger might not be attaching to the vehicle for some reason (I tried walking towards the vehicle and then walked to where I originally placed the trigger and it shot the onact)

I wouldn't do it that way but it does work. I had the same problem until I realised I'd used ul instead of u1 on one item.

I'd use addaction.

Place the addaction in the vehicles init box

u1 addaction ["Refuel truck","fill.sqf","",1,false,true,"","gas distance u1 <= 5   and player distance u1 <= 5"];

code save as fill.sqf

titleText ["refueling","PLAIN"];

u1 removeaction (_this select 2);

sleep 5;

u1 setfuel 0.3;

gas attachto [u1,[0,0,0]];

titleText ["Truck refueled","PLAIN"];

Worked like a charm F2k Sel! Cheers mate :D