Jump to content

brainslush

Member
  • Content Count

    133
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Medals

  • Medals

Posts posted by brainslush


  1. First let me say, congrats on the release. I like the detailed textures and model.

    Some small things I noted:

    First, your addon causes some problems with the curator module: Open Editor, place Modules/Zeus/GameMaster, then you receive following well known config error:

     0:32:19 Warning Message: No entry 'bin\config.bin/CfgVehicles/ModuleCurator_F/Arguments/Addons/Values/All.default'.
    0:32:19 Warning Message: '/' is not a value
    0:32:19 Warning Message: No entry 'bin\config.bin/CfgVehicles/ModuleCurator_F/Arguments/Addons/Values/AllMission.default'.
    0:32:19 Warning Message: '/' is not a value
    0:32:19 Warning Message: No entry 'bin\config.bin/CfgVehicles/ModuleCurator_F/Arguments/Addons/Values/None.default'.
    0:32:19 Warning Message: '/' is not a value
    0:32:19 Warning Message: No entry 'bin\config.bin/CfgVehicles/ModuleCurator_F/Arguments/Forced/values/Enabled.default'.
    0:32:19 Warning Message: '/' is not a value

    Second, as far as I know you are using the wrong recticle in the scope. I will let you know when I find an image.

    Third, the volume of the explosion sound seems too low.

    But apart from that great addon and keep up your effort.


  2. Bug: Shooting at Panthera causes the game to freeze

    Fault address:  212D2FA6 01:00001FA6 D:\SteamLibrary\SteamApps\common\Arma 3\AdvancedBallistics.dll
    file:     
    world:    Panthera3
    Prev. code bytes: 0F 2C D2 F2 0F 10 94 24 88 00 00 00 F2 0F 5C D7
    Fault code bytes: 0F AF 51 28 F2 0F 59 D5 0F 54 E2 0F 28 C2 0F 57
    
    Registers:
    EAX:00000000 EBX:FFFFFFFF
    ECX:00000000 EDX:00000031
    ESI:7A3B8778 EDI:00000000
    CS:EIP:0023:212D2FA6
    SS:ESP:002B:0254C2F8  EBP:0254C514
    DS:002B  ES:002B  FS:0053  GS:002B
    Flags:00010202


  3. To be honest I'm a bit disappointed by the performance increase. I expected it to be more since we are talking about a VM vs. compiled C# or whatever you used. Well, this speaks for the Arma engine but I really expected it to be more significant.

    I don't know how familiar you are with performance increasing programming tricks but if you want to I can have a look at it, maybe we can get a bit more out of it. But guessing from your proper plots it seems that you are quite familiar with the matter.

    Another question: Is there going to be a stand alone version of AB after it was included into CSE? Not all communities want to use CSE. Don't understand me wrong, I like the features but our community sticks with AGM and so do others.

    Edit: By the way your plots are changing all the time.


  4. @Ruthberg: I can read minds, yeah! Have you measured the performance increase? It probably varies from machine to machine and also depends if you did some performance enhancing programming but still

    I've been curious about these performance increases since brainslush made his suggestion. I wasn't aware of any performance degradation from your mod, but is this something we should notice? I wouldn't have thought the calculations were all that intensive for the CPU unless maybe the mod applied to AI fire as well. At any rate, I'll be giving all the updated stuff a go today. Faster/more efficient is always better.

    You specially noticed it when multiple vehicle MGs or automatic rifles were fired in MP. Usually the framedrop is negligible but in Arma one always appreciates some extra frames since either one or the other way you always will find a point where you could use some more frames.


  5. Have you ever considered pushing the time critical and heavy computations to an external program which you access via a .dll?

    This most likely would increase the computation speed by a significant factor since the VM of Arma is slower than a compiled C/C++ or Assembly code. Further this would give the advantage that you can use another CPU core to calculate the ballistics since Arma doesn't really access multiple cores.


  6. Just a short message to all people who are following this thread. We infact are still developing RWS. The only problem is that both code developers, me included, rarely find time to continue the development. We haven't given up the project but the coding part just consumes so much time for research and proper code implementation.

    We also hoped that we would be in another phase of the project by now but real life catched up with us.

    http://cloud-4.steampowered.com/ugc/531745346152602649/A63169391E566C668E50A58DC28AD25C849CA399/ (309 kB)

    http://cloud-4.steampowered.com/ugc/531745346152654132/5F8BE2A61AFC6C610757EF1F329A400442E0E2F8/ (369 kB)


  7. Hey Ruthberg it's me again after a while. ;D

    We found that the subsonic ammunition for the G28 of the BWA3 behaves strange since you introduced the BWA3 config enhancements. I haven't checked yet but maybe you left those out? Or do you have problems calculating the trajectory for subsonic ammunition?

    I will do some more excessive testing for vehicles when I find time for it.

    Thanks


  8. We have this mod running for some weeks now. One thing we noticed is that the game becomes extremely unbalanced fighting AI having harsh weather conditions since they are not influenced by the ballistics.

    Depending on the wind strength one could apply setskill.

    Another things is that for heavy vehicle projectiles the zeroing gets messed up, maybe you could implement some kind of ammo whitelist or blacklist to exclude such special ammunition.


  9. I can tell you that TMR AI isn't the problem in either way. The TMR AI only contains altered configs. I don't know how well ASR and Alive play together since both run scripts trying to change the behavior of the AI. There is a large possibility that there may occur contradicting behavior between ASR and Alive eg one says move over there and the other says stay fortified.


  10. Nice to see you are working on an update :)

    If you don't mind me making a suggestion;

    It would be nice to have an ability that disables TrackIR for the time being when looking through zoomed in scopes, for instance the red dot sight of the RCO and also zoomed in scope.

    But TrackIR should be enabled again immediately when being out of weapon scopes.

    Would be a nice feature if that could be implemented :)

    I'm not completely sure what you're suggesting but do you mean that the TrackIR (or any other headtracking) movement should be disabled when looking through any scope? I guess this won't be possible since you can't alter the inputs of the client, at least not for controllers and TrackIR. I guess there even is a ticket suggesting to enable the feature to alter the client inputs.


  11. A summary of our last test.

    1. It seems that the wind doesn't apply for firing from vehicles on dedicated servers but in the editor it does work. We will check that again.
    2. Having multiple people firing at once using machine guns doesn't cause any noticable framedrop
    3. Is it intended that the Kestrel and the AtragMX can't be opened when they are located in the backpack? (I like it)
    4. It seems that sometimes the bullettrail takes a different path than the bullet but this needs more testing
    5. The impact points are synchronized


  12. @Ruthberg: wow thanks a lot for the loadout parameters! :D ohh one more thing bro, i just installed ASDG Joint Rails & ASDG Joint Muzzles for EricJ weapons mod, will they affect my muzzle velocity and trajectory? will they conflict with your mod?

    ASDG JR definitely not and also ASDG JM shouldn't make any trouble since both are only class defines to make weapons attachments and silencer compatible for different addon packs containing weapons, optics, bipods and what so ever which infact are all using the same rail system in real life.

    ---------- Post added at 23:12 ---------- Previous post was at 23:09 ----------

    Would you consider using SI units in configs? Please?:D

    That's what I thought.


  13. Oh sorry, I never pushed the correct version up to the server since I never imagined that people are using that mod. Actually not the path is wrong but I packed it with the BIS-Addonmaker which is unable to read the $PBOPREFIX$ files properly.

    I will be redoing this mod in the next few days, since I came up with an idea to make it more effective and reliable

    The reson that it doesn't work in any other gamemode than elite was because I didn't see any point in fixing that when third person is enabled.


  14. Lack of poper sight adjustment capabilities. Not yet thoroughly tested - and yes, it might cause frame drops if you have multiple vehicles firing simultaneously.

    We tried it with a few Jackals (three I guess) and I didn't experience much of frame drop but I will try to get some people together to make some proper testings.


  15. @Ruthberg

    1.) Lat/Long error message when starting up new A3 user made Imrali Map.

    2.) SHIFT+K (Wind info) always shows a white circle, no matter what wind I set. Why is this?

    The first error occurs b/c the map is not supported yet I guess. Where are you standing when the white circle appears? The wind behaves according to the terrain and the surrounding environment so near and in houses you measure reduced or no wind, same holds for thick bushes. Further you measure reduced wind on the far side of mountains. In case you are testing it on Imrali it just might be a follow up error from the first one.


  16. Just an update to the issue, Had a friend play to test out some stuff, and the mods for him worked. Weird thing is, we sync all of our mods via BittorrentSync, so we have the exact same setup.

    I tried double and triple checking everything, and I'll be able to report more here tomarrow on the subject. I hosted the server, so perhaps thats where the issue is comming from?

    Here is a pastebin of the latest log (with some extra logging and disabling of cache)

    http://pastebin.com/dEC8c3jE

    First of all are you running dev or stable? Second, have you tried what happens using a dedicated server?


  17. @Ruthberg

    Found another script error, which occurs when one fires from a vehicle.

    Error in expression <};
    if (false && currentWeaponMode _unit != "Single") exitWith {};
    if (_unit dist>
     Error position: <!= "Single") exitWith {};
    if (_unit dist>
     Error Generic error in expression
    File advancedballistics\fnc_advanced_ballistics.sqf, line 19

    I guess this error occurs because when the fired eventhandler is triggered the unit firing is the vehicle and not a single unit. Combined with currentWeaponMode _unit this returns a number (usually 0) and not a string. This brings me directly to a feature request: Please enable this mod for vehicles aswell or maybe just a lightweight version.

×