Sign in to follow this  
marez12

Thoughts about the AI

Hi everybody; 

I started playing combat mission a couple of months ago CMSF2 to be more precise. And I walked through it's mission editor, something blew my mind, with basics command it was pretty easy to set up an AI battle plan, against a player. And I thought why not doing the same for the arma 3 AI? 

AI modder as far as I can tell want the AI to be as independent as possible, so it doesn't require much to do from the mission maker to set up group and defenses. It's great in a way that it requires less work from a mission maker or a zeus editor to control the AI, and they can focus on other parts of the scenario. Even though so far those mods have been great, I started to wonder if we did focus on the wrong things. I mean would it be possible to just focus on the  basics AI individual movement and group movement and then thanks to some commands, waypoints and markers allow them to execute some  complex maneuver, or use covers. 

For exemple: 

I set up a group with 9 soldiers in it:

1) I set up an attack waypoint. 

2) I put markers over position in wich the AI will use to take cover and make fire and maneuver. Like: Position A, Position B... Or infiltration routes. 

3) Set up an area in wich the AI will be looking for enemy contact around the attack objectives. Like: An area marker with a line to activate a S&D mission in said area. 

4) Let the AI hunker down in said area. 

This would allow the AI thanks to those simple set up, use fire and maneuver tactics, supressive fire...  without too much calculation, like finding a path for the AI to take etc..