Sign in to follow this  
Zombitch

What are scripting best practices ? And some beginner questions.

Hello,

As I am new to Arma3 scripting, I wonder what are best practices ? Can you share your tips and your practices ?

For instance I saw a lot of people scripting with external files such : init.sqf or intro.sdf.

And I guess init.sqf is to initialize some value/units/weapons before the mission start but I wonder where, when and how to put that script (in a game logic ?) ?

Same question for the intro.sdf ?

Thanks for your help.

Edit : some more question :

Is it possible to deal with global variable ? If so can you show me an example please ?

Is it possible to call a timer ? (I mean for instance that each X seconds the player loose some health , this is just an example)

What is the difference between *.sqs and *.sqf file ?

Edited by Zombitch

The init.sqf is a file located in your mission directory, it runs automatically at mission start. You might be interested in this page:

http://community.bistudio.com/wiki/6thSense.eu:EG

Second, a global variable is something that is not a keyword (such as a command like 'getPos') and does not start with an underscore. An example is 'Target1'; that variable can be accessed and modified by any function. A local variable in a function (example: '_unit') is defined only in that function and in all lower scopes. Functions called by another function are a lower scope. See this page:

http://community.bistudio.com/wiki/Variables

Regarding a timer, you could use 'sleep x;'. You may be interested in these too:

http://community.bistudio.com/wiki/waitUntil

http://community.bistudio.com/wiki/addEventHandler

Further reading:

http://community.bistudio.com/wiki/Code_Optimisation

Edit: SQS is deprecated language that you do not need to use (I never have). SQF is the standard scripting syntax.

Edited by Zenophon

If you already know the basics of sqf (if statements etc), skip the spoiler and head further down.