Sign in to follow this  
JuggernautOfWar

Rudder Control

Is there any way to gain rudder control over your aircraft at >50kmph? It's ridiculous how little the rudder affects both fixed and rotary wing aircraft ever since OFP.

Sorry i dont, but speaking of aircraft controls, i dont like how the game automates the flight controls, everything is automated like a fly-by-wire system but not quite.

Rudder control is lost in real life at high speeds. Slow down and you gain rudder control back. Bank left/right at high speeds to turn.

Sorry i dont, but speaking of aircraft controls, i dont like how the game automates the flight controls, everything is automated like a fly-by-wire system but not quite.

What exactly do you mean by this?

Rudder control is lost in real life at high speeds. Slow down and you gain rudder control back. Bank left/right at high speeds to turn.

Yes I know, I'm a pilot myself. This game has horrendous representations of real life flight envelopes though. I mean if planes couldn't turn with their rudders at their targeted speed there would be no point to even put em on the aircraft. For example the cruising speed for a Harrier II is transonic in real life, but in game you can't even get up to that speed if you're flying like a bat out of hell, with the wind, in the stratosphere. Even with these remarkably slow speeds for a jet aircraft you cannot control yaw with rudders in the slightest, the aircraft just dog tracks.

Edited by JuggernautOfWar

Like the auto-throttle, elevators & rudder are all automated during flight, dunno about the ailerons proberly some form of automation involved.

Quoted from wiki