Sign in to follow this  
Vardym

Save variables server-side with JIP?

Hi all!

I'm excited to begin scripting in Armed Assault. With the new Join in Progress, and continuous server features, I feel like we're way less limited. I'm not very good at scripting, and I do have a few questions. I am very sorry if these have been asked before. I've found some information on some of these, but I just don't get it.

1. I am trying to add money to my game. I've been thinking about describing a private variable in an initialization script, say "Personalmoney", that I want to start out as 0. Each soldier runs the same script, call it soldierinit.sqs. Could I say

Private personalmoney = 0 ?

If I did, and made Personalmoney = 5 for player 1, and Personalmoney = 10 for player 2, would Arma see that as 2 seperate variables? If so, in a seperate script, say buycar.sqs, how would I make sure that if Player1 is executing buycar.sqs, it executes it with his personalmoney? [this] exec buycar.sqs? That's always been a bit confusing to me.

2. Dialogs are also a bit confusing. I'm using the wonderful, but bit archaic dialog maker: "OPERATION FLASHPOINT DIALOG MAKER". It works pretty well after changing font names. I'm just receiving a few errors with my working dialogs that I don't know how to avoid. Here is a copy of a dialog example from my description.ext file:

class BuyCar : RscButton

{

x = 0.35625

y = 0.24704

idc = -1

w = 0.2

h = 0.03004

style = ST_CENTER

colorBackground[] = {0, 0, 0, 0};

colorText[] = {0, 0, 0, 1};

font = "TahomaB"

SizeEX = 0.025

text = "Buy Car"

action = "[Car1] exec ""PurchaseCars.sqs""";

default = false

};

When running the overall dialog, I get the following error:

No entry: ....Buycar.colorDisabled

So I added:colorDisabled[] = {0.3, 0.3, 0.3, 1};

That gets rid of that error, but a bunch of other noentry errors come up:

No entry: ... Buycar.BackgroundActive

So I added: colorBackgroundActive[] = {0, 0, 0, 0};