Sign in to follow this  
topeira

Need guidance in mission editor. help? :)

hi there.

im very new to ARMA and the editor and i want to start by trying something and cant seem to understand how.

i've read some manuals on the editor and i dont think i understood what was written there so i ask.

i am using the FFN mod and sometimes the ACE mod as well. FYI

for the sake of the thread lets use these terms:

FU = friendly units

EU = enemy units

WP = waypoints

TR = triggers

i want to create a simple mission, just for starters.

mission A) a village filled with EU and i need to clean them all (all infantry)

mission B) a battle between many EU and FU that clash on a certain ground but most of the FU are not under my command. they are on their own. (all infantry)

concerning mission A:

i know how to place EU and FU and the player. i know how to place a trigger that says that once opfor is not present i get end1 so the mission ends.

i know how to link units to one character so it's the leader.

i know that i can place WP but im not sure what to do with them and what they mean, even though i read about them in some online manuals (like wiki).

so, my main issue is that even though i know how to populate a village with EU that will attack me if they see me i have this problem where the AI units do not actively search for me once im spotted by one of them. they just stay where they spawned, most of the time. sometimes they go to unexpected locations. just sometimes. the almost never really try and hunt me or my FU down.

i guess i need to set behavior via WP for the EU so they do that but i dont know how or what type of WP.

can i assign WP on myself, the player? should i?

what's the difference between search&destroy and just destroy?

there's a lot i dont know about how to make the AI search after me and my FU once one of us has been made out.

i need some guidance...

about mission B: