Sign in to follow this  
Easterlily

How can I make NPC wave spawning?

Hello there.

I have an idea of a map and im currently trying to create one, even though im not that experienced with either Arma 2 or Arma 3 editors.

However, this is the deal.

I want to make, for example a firegroup, spawn at a certain area of the map, and then they will spawn on a trigger that issues them to move to a certain waypoint. And I want a new firegroup to spawn at the exact same location and keep doing this in waves of, for example one minute.

When I read this myself I guess it might be hard to understand what I'm talking about but I just figured out a example. Most of you guys have probably played League of Legends or any DoTA-based game. I want to make the Firegroup spawn and react exacly as the minions do in those games.

i was working on something similar recently Ok It Going to seem Like Its A Little Complicated because you probably need to write lots of scripts but this is what you have to do

in your init.sqf put this (create one if you don't already have one)

execVM "WaveSpawner.sqf";

then create WaveSpawner.sqf Put

EnemyWave = 0;

Then Create your trigger and on activation put

handle = [] execVM "SpawnChecker.sqf";

Create the SpawnChecker.sqf and put

if (Enemywave==1) then 
		{
			nil;
		} else {
execVM "Spawner.sqf";
		};

then create spawner.sqf put

EnemyWave = 1;
player groupchat "1 Minute Until Next Wave";
sleep 60;
UnitType = "O_soldier_f";  NumberOfUnits = 3;  for [{_x=0}, {_x < NumberOfUnits}, {_x=_x+1}] do   {  red = creategroup east; UnitType createUnit [position Marker_1, red, "newUnit = this; _wp = red addWaypoint [position Marker_2, 0];", 1, "colonel"];   };  UnitType = nil;  NumberOfUnits = nil; 
EnemyWave = 0;
hint "Wave Has Been Deployed";
execVM "SpawnChecker.sqf";

If you dont want an infinite number of waves delete in the last line above

To Add More Waypoints Just add

_wp = red addWaypoint [position Marker_3, 0];

next to