Sign in to follow this  
striker(PANDA)

Lowpoly

How do i lower the poly on an object, sorry if is sounds dumb, im a total newbie to modelling, making a jail atm.

You can do all that manual if you know how to model (lower cylinder

edges etc)

Or just let it do all automatic, by buying/trying (demo) Modo and installing the tool "PolygonCruncher".

One click on the desired Polygoncount and you have it.

How do i lower the poly on an object, sorry if is sounds dumb, im a total newbie to modelling, making a jail atm.

If you have your model in O2 allready you could try deleting detailed objects which are not needed for distance lods.

You can also use the merge points option but it will most likely screw up your texturing, so you should only use it for the 3.000, 4.000 and 5.000 Lods where these errors are not noticable thanks to the distance.

If you have your model outside of O2 theres plenty of 3rd party scripts,tools and apps but I wouldn't know which one to recommend.

Edited by Icewindo

What i'm doing is :

- I texture the object for the first lod, a helmet for example, with the Gizmo mapping tool.

- Then i save it in my soldier model first lod.

- Then I use the merge near command on the helmet, it screws the texturing but i launch again the Gizmo tool which "remembers" the last texturing adjustment, so i only have to click on the "ok" button to retexture the low poly helmet exactly the same way it did texture the detailed model.

- Then i save this low poly helmet in the second lod.

- Etc for all the lods.

Very simple and quick.

Sorry ive been heavly busy, thank you for advise guys, im useing that merge points together tool, really does its job.

Thanks

if u have 3ds max u can target weld the vertices, which is the best way. any automatic process is likely to screw up your model