Sign in to follow this  
OddballWDI

Was the campain even bug tested?

I love ARMA2. It's awesome. The game itself seems very well made. But the campaign is seriously crap! ARMA1 had the same problem. I'm a programmer that makes medical software. I test my own stuff after I create it but it still HAS to go through a QC (testing) department because I know exactly how the software was written. When another person tests it they sometimes find problems and sometimes they don't. In such an open ended type of mission as these missions seem to be, it looks like the guy who made the mission is who tested it and nobody else. If anyone else had tested these they would have found many problems with them.

I had to use the endmission cheat just to get past Manhattan. Now on bitter chill I spent about an hour trying to get down to the city in the south, only to come to the conclusion there was some bullshit trigger that kills you if you get too far away. What kind of cheap crap is that? Making the mission have 2 endings is fine but one of them damn well should be that the player makes it to that southern city!!!

I know some players had redone the ARMA1 campaign. Is anyone going to try to clean up the ARMA2 campaign and make it playable?

BIS you guys have gotta do a better job on the missions. I fully understand software deadlines but for the love of god this is 2 games in a row with full on crap campaigns. If you can't do it correctly hire some of the good guys in the mission making community.

The community is why I buy these games. Some of the guys that made mods for Arma 1 are so good at what they do it makes me wonder if BIS just got lazy and said F*** it let the community test and fix it.

The community is why I buy these games. Some of the guys that made mods for Arma 1 are so good at what they do it makes me wonder if BIS just got lazy and said F*** it let the community test and fix it.

How nice of BIS to think of us :D