drahcir_dier

Texture lighting anomaly

I am looking for advice with regards to a lighting anomaly encountered with a custom building I have been working on. Under normal lighting conditions the wall textures display normally, however while using a directed light source, such as a torch, the textures exhibit bizarre shadowing. When the torch is pointed directly at the wall the texture turns completely black. Its obviously something to do with the texture settings or the nohq file or something, but I am not experienced enough to know what might be causing this issue. I have linked to two images below demonstrating the behaviour. 

Under normal lighting conditions:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/106PQNgVPha1C9dwr5ViXWPFii-287op_/view?usp=sharing

Under directed lighting from a torch:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/17mkLZVnIfgTJAHycIu_SeEb15BeW3eBs/view?usp=sharing

Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers!

Perhaps its a sharp/smooth edge issue? Try sharpening the edges of those walls and ceiling, or the entire faces (selected the area in Object Builder and press 'U'

Could also be a shadow LOD issue, but that would be more apparent from outside of the building and not just directed light...

Might be an issue with the rvmat and some textures (nohq or smdi) being missing/incorrectly pathed.

Thank you for the response @Jackal. Unfortunately, none of the solutions offered appear to have helped. 

I have played with the nohq textures a little more, and they certainly appear to be working as expected based on the visible lumpiness of the surfaces. But the specular lighting under torch light still tears in weird ways. 

I totally removed the shadow LOD and set the LodNoShadow variable to true in all remaining lods, and the problem persisted. I'm almost certain its not a shadow issue... which is one step forward.

The tearing seems to occur along the diagonals of quad faces, as shown here: