DZR_Mikhail

After Action Review 3 — battle replays in ARMA 3

After Action Review 3

"Record. Replay. Learn."

Project home: https://github.com/zvukoper/Arma3_AAR

Introduction

I always envied VBS for their fantastic AAR system that captured the network stream and played it back with all the details. The replay system is very common for shooters and other competitive games, but for some reason, the Arma series never got its native replay system.

Many modders have already created their own AAR systems but I couldn't find the one that suits my own needs and worked. So if some great AAR appears or Dslyexci shares his Shack Tac AAR on GIT 🙂 , I will happily close this project and have more free time, and contribute to a more complete system. But until that, I will try to complete my AAR3. I'm not a super programmer. In fact, I'm pretty lame, but just learned a couple of things. So expect slow development, lags, and bugs 🙂 If you see something stupid in my code, let me know or fork on Github. This is called AAR3 just to correspond to ARMA 3 title. But in fact, it is the second iteration. There were no AAR2 or AAR1. There was just my old partially finished AAR for Arma2, which was lost when Dev-Heaven was shut down. But the files were miraculously recovered from old HDD and community members. That is why this is possible now. Starting from scratch was not an option. I'm too old for this 🙂

Minimum feature version concept:

• Easy installation and integration to any mission as a mod.
  • Admin\host clicks "RECORD" in-game, everything is recorded in the .aar file, clicks "STOP".
  • Anyone having the .aar file opens an empty mission, clicks "PLAY", selects a replay, spectates the battle replay with pause ability.
  • Record and use in replay the following data: Unit: state, position, aim, model, gear\inventory, current weapons, movement, animations; Vehicle: interaction, operation, state;