SenkiAlfonz

How to use EventHandlers init in a mod?

Hi,

I am fairly new to modding, so I don't understand too much yet. I searched the forums but not found much info about this.

I made a script which adds a "HandleDamage" eventHandler and some code in it to a unit.

I want to add this script to every man class unit created either on mission init or spawned later. Actually on mission start I can do it with a simple '{} forEach allUnits', but I have troubel with the spawned ones.

I think it would be the best to add the code to every units init field. As I understand the eventHandler init should do the trick but I dont really understand how shold I set it up.

Sofar I've tried to add this to my mods config.cpp

class CfgVehicles
{
   class EventHandlers
   {
      class Man;
      {
         init = "systemChat format ["Man created: %1", _this]";
      };
   };
};

Of course I would put run a 'fnc_somescript.sqf', but first I just tried to display a text for testing purposes.

Could someone explain how this should work? Or show alterntive ways to run script for every man created.

Thanks.

You got the EventHandlers and Man class inverted, try it like this:

class CfgVehicles
{
	class Land;
	class Man: Land
	{
		class EventHandlers
		{
			class UNS_DSAI_UNITINIT
			{
				init = "if (isNil 'RUG_DSAI_INIT') then { '\RUG_
DSAI\RUG_DSAI\' call compile preProcessFile '\RUG_DSAI\RUG_DSAI\DSAI_Init.sqf'};
 d=[_this select 0] spawn RUG_DSAI_fAddUnit;";
			};
			class uns_disposable_LAW
			{
				fired = "_this spawn uns_weap_fnc_m72law";
			};
		};
	};
};

it's also important to introduce the sub class below EventHandlers, to not overwrite the default EventHandler and to make the event handler stackable.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

2 hours ago, tuskohopkins said:

I made a script which adds a "HandleDamage" eventHandler and some code in it to a unit.