thirith

BIS_fnc_arrayShuffle - does it work?

I've read around a bit and it seems that BIS_fnc_arrayShuffle either was or still is broken. Is that the case? I've not found any clear up-to-date info on the matter. If it's broken, what's the recommended workaround?

something like that, works like a charm :don12:

New_fnc_shuffle  = {
	private _array = _this;
	private _rand = 0;
	private _count = count(_array) -1;
	for "_i" from 0 to _count do {
		_rand = floor random _count;
		_temp = _array select _i;
		_array set [_i, _array select _rand];
		_array set [_rand, _temp];
	};
	_array;
};

_array = [1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10];
_result = _array call New_fnc_shuffle;
hintc format ["%1", _result];

• Like 2

Thing with just trying is that I don’t have the experience to know if the results would be consistent or if they’d be different if I used a dedicated server etc. I’m a scripting newbie, but I know that there are factors that may influence the results that I’m simply not aware of.

25 minutes ago, thirith said:

I've read around a bit and it seems that BIS_fnc_arrayShuffle either was or still is broken. Is that the case? I've not found any clear up-to-date info on the matter. If it's broken, what's the recommended workaround?

Where did you find any info that it was broken in the first place? What of the function is supposed to be broken?

Always worked for me, even better since KK reworked it to lightning speeds, something around 0.1ms for shuffling 100 elements if I remember correctly.

Cheers

It was this thread here: 

From the discussion it wasn't clear to me whether there was still a problem (or if there was some confusion in the first place). If it's not an issue, all the better. Thanks!

• Like 1

13 minutes ago, thirith said:

It was this thread here: 

From the discussion it wasn't clear to me whether there was still a problem (or if there was some confusion in the first place). If it's not an issue, all the better. Thanks!