soulassassin

Night missions are way too dark and light reflections are not what they used to be.

Hi guys, first of all I know this has probably been reported before, but I am having major issues as the topic title suggests. I have been playing arma for about 2 years and after taking a 3month break I came back (didn't take note of any updates as good guy Steam autoInstalls them all) and I noticed that the nights are very very dark and my chemlights almost have no effect anymore.

Can you please point me to a thread where this discussion is ongoing so that I can see if there are any solutions to my problems?

Kind regards,

Soul

Independent for life

As a bit of a point worth making, and especially with little ambient light, i think nights are getting closer to reality. Even with current gen nvg it can be difficult to identify anything at night if there's not much moonlight or starlight.

• Like 1

Can you please point me to a thread where this discussion is ongoing so that I can see if there are any solutions to my problems?

I would follow the Dev branch discussion thread    https://forums.bistudio.com/topic/143930-general-discussion-dev-branch/page-1022        asthis is where most of the discussion about the new lighting is taking place. The too dark nights was reported as soon as the new lighting was released and Dwarden said the Dev team are very aware of it and are working on a fix, but also that there is no definite ETA on when that fix might be ready.It apparently is a very complex problem to sort out-but it is being worked on.

And yes-it does cause problems.Trying to play the "Night" showcase mission now is next to impossible.I use arsenal mods or MCC to spawn NVG's into missions where you don't have any :)

• Like 3

Thanks for the reply. I am all for realism. But even when the moon is not out, I can atleast see around a lamp pole at night. But, I don't want to start a fight. They are aware of the issue and hopefully they fix it quickly.

• Like 1