Sign in to follow this  
Theodor Schmidt

counting problems

Hello, Im rather new to scripting, so this problem may this very easy to you.

Im am making a mission where you have to get supply trucks to a certain point. However I want a message to pop up when a truck arrives. the pop up I want is "Supply trucks through X" with X being the amount of trucks through - which will go up by one each time a truck arrives. The script I am currently using for this is.

cnt = {alive _x} count allUnits; hint format ["Supply trucks through", cnt]

is is probably very obviously wrong to you guys.

The two problems I have are

1. the message is staying up constantly, I only want to see it when a unit arrives, not all the time.

2. The message isn't counting up. It always says "Supply trucks through".

As I have said before, this is probably a noob mistake, but this is my first proper foray into scripting.

p.s I also have another thread asking about a defence module work-around. If you guys are able to can you help me on that as well.

http://forums.bistudio.com/showthread.php?190670-Defence-module-mission-help

Ummm (*scratches head*), firstly....

Your syntax on the format command is a bit off:

hint format ["Supply trucks through %1", cnt];

And secondly....ummm...why are you counting all alive units for this?, because that certainly won't give you your desired result, and where and how exactly are you using the code?

Edited by JShock

Ah, yes, my noobyness is showing. It is within a trigger which which far south of all the action, the only units which should reach the place are the supply trucks, and from my research and meager understanding, I thought the count all alive units would count all the alive units within the trigger circle.

Here is the picture, with the truck just outside.

http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=422197375

Yea, no the allUnits command returns all units on the map at any given point in time, you will want to use "thisList" instead.