icebreakr

[IceBreakr/IBIS] Island Panthera for A3

Hey guys!

Intro for all A3 newcomers
"It's 2015 almost, mapmaking for such a popular game must be easy, right? Wrong :)"
I'm from Slovenia (Europe) and I've been a level designer for other games/simulations for ~15 years now. Many of you know me & my work from Arma 2, a bit less from Armed Assault (Arma 1) and even smaller number of folks from OFP aka Operation Flashpoint: Cold War Crisis (original Bohemia's game released back in June 2001). I'm an avid mapmaker/addon-maker for this Community and I get a lot of requests to release some my "old" work from previous titles to the Arma 3. I'm also a C/O for SBP (Slovenian Black Panthers) team that gets to play at least once weekly (Thursdays). Team has a rich (and also turbulent) history since 2002. We absolutely love to be hand in hand with realism in mil-sim games, well .... with a hint of zombie/alien/dinosaur chase now and then to break up the monotony ;)

If I'm to release my old maps to Arma 3 I better enhance them while in the process, right? Right :) After a very long wait for necessary tools by BI and that fiasco that actually holding back work and waiting on A3 that proved to be "alpha" or maybe early "beta" was, I gathered enough courage to get my hands dirty, overcome all new mapmaking problems and issues, to release some new stuff now that Altis is slowly "cooling down". As I've predicted, BIS in 1-year managed to release huge amount of patches, polish the A3 "sci-fi arcade shooter" into a well-polished "sandbox game" we've all wanted.
You cannot imagine on how many issues I've come across with "new" tool Terrain Builder official tool, how many sleepless nights I've gone through banging my head, well upper one... just figuring out that bridge objects (BI original ones!) that I used on the maps in 2 previous titles worked, but were crashing A3 game to CTD now... But here I am, stubborn as always, finding a way ;)