Jump to content
Dwarden

Dedicated Client / Headless Client feedback (dev branch)

Recommended Posts

That reminds me of this:

https://dev.withsix.com/issues/62500

Do you have this in your server.cfg?

localClient[]={127.0.0.1};

Good thinking there, that helped me out :)

I went and checked my server.cfg and it was in there but commented out FPDR

I commented it out when trying to fix another issue and must have forgot to enable it. I couldn't close the ticket on FT but have added note saying false bug and asked mods to close.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Good thinking there, that helped me out :)

I went and checked my server.cfg and it was in there but commented out FPDR

I commented it out when trying to fix another issue and must have forgot to enable it. I couldn't close the ticket on FT but have added note saying false bug and asked mods to close.

No probs :)

Do what is the status then :)

WIP, he said.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I absolutely agree, if we get a solution now, it should be a proper one, without the need to script for hours again for mission builders. If a virtual client unit is placed on the map, the game should automatically detect it and move the AI calculations over to its own thread.

But the engine isn't made of legos. You can't just put stuff on top of it and expect it to work. What you suggest may take an unforseeable amount of time and man power.

If we can get improved performance right now with "minor" tweaks, why not pursue that for now? Nobody said there couldn't be a better solution in the future.

The "just do it" attitude doesn't work with complex matter such as this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
But the engine isn't made of legos. You can't just put stuff on top of it and expect it to work. What you suggest may take an unforseeable amount of time and man power.

If we can get improved performance right now with "minor" tweaks, why not pursue that for now? Nobody said there couldn't be a better solution in the future.

The "just do it" attitude doesn't work with complex matter such as this.

I think you misread the context of that. I assume it was meant as "now it's early days lets just do it properly rather than messing around with the same method A2 uses" not "I demand this now". I'm happy to go without in lieu of it being rushed as I'm sure most other people are...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey guys,

improved headless clients are part of the 1.36 RC build (go to Arma 3 on Steam -> Properties -> Betas -> Enter beta access code 'Arma3Update136RC' and select the newly added 'rc' branch in the combo above). Apart from all the good stuff described by Dwarden in the first post HCs now are now supported by BattlEye and they are automatically assigned to free HC slots (no need to use the -name command line parameter anymore).

It would be awesome if you could test the clients before it's officialy released.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

updated 1st post with BattlEye supported (1.36 RC2 released 28.11.2014 18:00 CET)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Testing 1.36 RC, I notice that the headless client now creates/uses the profile "headlessclient". No big deal, just some settings migration, rename the unit for that first client.

However, connect a second client, notice the " (2)" suffix: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1542468/temp/hc_136_names.png

Upon renaming the second unit to match "headlessclient (2)", you run into an issue: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1542468/temp/hc_name_problem.png

You can directly edit the sqm as a workaround: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1542468/temp/hc_136_workaround.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@zx64 thanks for the finding, we will look on it (e.g. like use headlessclient_number instead)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Testing 1.36 RC, I notice that the headless client now creates/uses the profile "headlessclient". No big deal, just some settings migration, rename the unit for that first client.

However, connect a second client, notice the " (2)" suffix: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1542468/temp/hc_136_names.png

Upon renaming the second unit to match "headlessclient (2)", you run into an issue: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1542468/temp/hc_name_problem.png

You can directly edit the sqm as a workaround: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1542468/temp/hc_136_workaround.png

There should be no need to rename your HC units at all (I have updated the community wiki accordingly). Since the headless clients are now automatically assigned to free HC slots you don't need to care about there profiles at all. So for example you can have two HC units in your mission called hc1 and hc2, you will start two HC instances (they will have profile names 'headlessclient' and 'headlessclient (2)' as you mentioned) and they will be automatically assigned to the hc1 and hc2 slots.

Unfortunately, I cannot double check it at the moment as Steam has some connection issues but I'll do it later on.

Edited by dazhbog

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i still need to use a name for the HC or it connects with my name.

the hc use the profil of the name as the name of the virtual logic but, using my name to connect.

Then, when i connect, my pseudo is Mariodud62 (2).

Edited by Mariodu62

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
There should be no need to rename your HC units at all

Right, but to be clear those units do still need to be named something (unlike pre-1.36).

The headless clients create new profiles to match those target names, so if you were previously relying on having a known set of profiles for e.g. difficulty settings or profileNamespace data, you may run into issues with names changing between missions.

Another thing is that headless clients do not immediately "ready up" from the briefing screen, so if you don't have an admin present during that stage, the game will not immediately advance from the briefing stage when all players ready up (eventually a timeout hits and the game starts).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does anyone have a proper template mission and an example server.cfg for it?

Some information in the wikipage looks a bit old.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey Dwarden, is it possible for dedicated HCs to bypass all BE filters that apply to normal players? My filters are very restrictive due to the massive amount of scriptkiddies that attempt to ruin everyone's fun on a daily basis (ex.: no vehicles or civilian units can be created by players), and having the BE filters apply to the headless client greatly limits the kind of stuff that can be offloaded to it. I was expecting the new dedicated HC to bypass BE by default, but it seems that such a feature has not been considered or even discussed before.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Have the new 1.36 stable build. I am trying to get the HC client working. I am using the instructions here - https://community.bistudio.com/wiki/Arma_3_Headless_Client. I am doing it using the arma3server -client -connect=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx -password=xxxx I have create the slot in the mission as well as added in the cfg file the following entry headlessClients[]={"xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx", ...} I get the client trying to connect and get a steam ticket failed error and the HC get disconnected. In the HC rpt file is the following too - 16:16:21 No more slot to add connection at 033057 (3386.8,5735.4) and then the following errors in the server rpt 16:17:04 Message not sent - error 0, message ID = ffffffff, to 1809451524 (headlessclient)

16:17:08 NetServer::SendMsg: cannot find channel #1814138676, users.card=1

Not sure what is going on here?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Have the new 1.36 stable build. I am trying to get the HC client working. I am using the instructions here - https://community.bistudio.com/wiki/Arma_3_Headless_Client. I am doing it using the arma3server -client -connect=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx -password=xxxx I have create the slot in the mission as well as added in the cfg file the following entry headlessClients[]={"xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx", ...} I get the client trying to connect and get a steam ticket failed error and the HC get disconnected. In the HC rpt file is the following too - 16:16:21 No more slot to add connection at 033057 (3386.8,5735.4) and then the following errors in the server rpt 16:17:04 Message not sent - error 0, message ID = ffffffff, to 1809451524 (headlessclient)

16:17:08 NetServer::SendMsg: cannot find channel #1814138676, users.card=1

Not sure what is going on here?

Try running it with '-enableSteamLogs -debug_steamapi', it should write additional debugging info in the RPTs.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Try running it with '-enableSteamLogs -debug_steamapi', it should write additional debugging info in the RPTs.

My headlessclient keeps getting kicked aswell. Removed any addons like ASM and used all new downloaded files. The server keeps nagging about unsigned PBO's usually two of the helicopter ones. Differs every time.

Adding those parameters to the headless client startup doesn't show any additional logging in the RPT.

client RPT shows

11:05:47 No more slot to add connection at 033057 (3386.8,5735.4)

server log shows

11:06:04 BattlEye Server: Player #0 headlessclient (127.0.0.1:2326) connected
11:06:04 Player headlessclient connecting.
11:06:04 Mission NL read from directory.
11:06:05 Player headlessclient connected (id=HC4240).
11:06:05 BattlEye Server: Verified GUID () of player #0 headlessclient
11:06:05 BattlEye Server: Player #0 headlessclient - Owner GUID: 8539e01499f87083b3a25eb30041261c
11:06:06 Player headlessclient: Wrong signature for file C:\ServerHosting-temp\A3Server\heli\addons\air_f_heli.ebo
11:06:06 Player headlessclient disconnected.
11:06:06 BattlEye Server: Player #0 headlessclient disconnected

Server RPT shows nothing out of the ordinary.

---------- Post added at 10:16 ---------- Previous post was at 10:08 ----------

Ah I see that it's a known issue :)

http://feedback.arma3.com/view.php?id=21915&nbn=2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello,

I've been digging in this thread & feedback without success to answer this quite simple question, and understand how to achieve it: is it possible to get HC & server on same machine?

I've managed to get HC connect to server with different machines, but once launched on the same (different exe with different names though, even tried duplicating the entire code...), HC server instance is not connecting to server, whatever I specify to connect to local host (127.0.0.1) or public server ip. I followed recommendation of biki to setup client & server.

HC RPT stops filling in after physx init complete, and server doesn't get any connection request.

Tried with both regular & performance server exe.

On the other hand, I can connect a server-HC running on another machine than the server.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

HC sistematic kickoff:

17:01:41 Initializing Steam server - Game Port: 2302, Steam Query Port: 2303
17:01:42 Connected to Steam servers
17:01:49 Error in expression <<null>>
17:01:49   Error position: <<null>>
17:01:49   Error Invalid number in expression
17:01:49 Error in expression <<null>>
17:01:49   Error position: <<null>>
17:01:49   Error Invalid number in expression
17:01:49 Unrecognized CfgVehicles simulation  in bin\config.bin/CfgVehicles/UnderwaterMine/
17:01:50 Server error: Player without identity headlessclient (id 683184468)
17:01:51 Server error: Player without identity headlessclient (id 685308024)
17:01:53 Server error: Player without identity headlessclient (id 686955966)
17:01:55 Server error: Player without identity headlessclient (id 688600133)
17:01:56 Server error: Player without identity headlessclient (id 690334134)
17:01:56 NetServer::SendMsg: cannot find channel #690334134, users.card=0
17:01:56 NetServer: users.get failed when sending to 690334134
17:01:56 Message not sent - error 0, message ID = ffffffff, to 690334134 (headlessclient)
17:01:58 Server error: Player without identity headlessclient (id 692018501)
17:02:00 Server error: Player without identity headlessclient (id 693701481)
17:02:02 Server error: Player without identity headlessclient (id 695344440)
17:02:03 Server error: Player without identity headlessclient (id 697091542)
17:02:05 Server error: Player without identity headlessclient (id 698725820)

Any solution for this??

---------------------------------

Using new steam parameters:

17:12:53 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] CancelAuthTicket called on invalid ticket 
17:12:53 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] CancelAuthTicket called on invalid ticket 
17:12:55 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] No game server found with IP 2130706433 or port 2302, skipping removing any server.

17:12:55 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] CancelAuthTicket called on invalid ticket 
17:12:55 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] CancelAuthTicket called on invalid ticket 
17:12:56 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] No game server found with IP 2130706433 or port 2302, skipping removing any server.

17:12:56 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] CancelAuthTicket called on invalid ticket 
17:12:56 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] CancelAuthTicket called on invalid ticket 
17:12:58 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] No game server found with IP 2130706433 or port 2302, skipping removing any server.

17:12:58 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] CancelAuthTicket called on invalid ticket 
17:12:58 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] CancelAuthTicket called on invalid ticket 
17:12:59 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] No game server found with IP 2130706433 or port 2302, skipping removing any server.

17:12:59 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] CancelAuthTicket called on invalid ticket 
17:13:00 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] CancelAuthTicket called on invalid ticket 
17:13:01 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] No game server found with IP 2130706433 or port 2302, skipping removing any server.

17:13:01 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] CancelAuthTicket called on invalid ticket 
17:13:01 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] CancelAuthTicket called on invalid ticket 

Edited by HMJ_Mayor
Add more info

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Same here the headless client is constantly getting kicked off

these are the lines from the rpt for the hc that are directly written when it tries to connect

16:22:16 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] CancelAuthTicket called on invalid ticket

16:22:16 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] CancelAuthTicket called on invalid ticket

16:22:18 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] No game server found with IP 2130706433 or port 2326, skipping removing any server.

16:22:18 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] CancelAuthTicket called on invalid ticket

16:22:18 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] CancelAuthTicket called on invalid ticket

16:22:18 c:\w\stable\futura\lib\network\networkserver.cpp ClearNetServer:NOT IMPLEMENTED - briefing!

this is a part of the HC log

=====================================================================

== C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3\arma3.exe

== "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3\arma3.exe" "-mod=C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3;C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3\@CBA_A3;C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3\@dar_hmmwv;C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3\@dar_mtvr;C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3\@kyo_mh47e_a3;C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3\@POMI_PMC;C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3\@rds;C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3\@task_force_radio;C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3\@rhs_afrf3;C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3\@rhs_usf3;C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3\@ffis;C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3\@bornholm;C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3\@psylandrover;C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3\@r3f_aicomtarget;C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3\@ares;C:\P

Original output filename: Arma3Retail_DX11

Exe timestamp: 2014/12/04 11:03:24

Current time: 2014/12/05 16:21:40

16:22:03 ==== Loaded addons ====

16:22:03

16:22:03 C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3\dta\bin.pbo - unknown

16:22:03 C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3\dta\core.pbo - 72362

16:22:03 C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3\dta\languagecore_f.pbo - 77045

16:22:03 C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3\@us_helos_kimi\addons\hafm_arma2_helis.pbo - unknown

[..]

16:22:11 Warning Message: No entry 'config.bin/CfgVehicles/AnimationSources.SoundEnvironExt'.

16:22:11 Warning Message: No entry 'config.bin/CfgVehicles/AnimationSources.SoundGear'.

16:22:11 Warning Message: No entry 'config.bin/CfgVehicles/AnimationSources.SoundEquipment'.

16:22:11 Warning Message: No entry 'config.bin/CfgVehicles/AnimationSources.weapons'.

16:22:11 Warning Message: Size: '/' not an array

16:22:11 Warning Message: No entry 'config.bin/CfgVehicles/AnimationSources.magazines'.

16:22:11 Warning Message: Size: '/' not an array

16:22:11 Warning Message: No entry 'config.bin/CfgVehicles/AnimationSources.threat'.

16:22:11 Warning Message: []: '/' not an array

16:22:11 Cannot evaluate '' - no file

16:22:11 Warning Message: []: '/' not an array

16:22:11 Cannot evaluate '' - no file

16:22:11 Warning Message: []: '/' not an array

16:22:11 Cannot evaluate '' - no file

16:22:11 Warning Message: No entry 'config.bin/CfgVehicles/AnimationSources.type'.

16:22:11 Warning Message: '/' is not a value

16:22:11 Warning Message: No entry 'config.bin/CfgVehicles/AnimationSources.reversed'.

16:22:11 Warning Message: '/' is not a value

16:22:11 Warning Message: No entry 'config.bin/CfgVehicles/AnimationSources.HeadAimDown'.

16:22:11 Warning Message: '/' is not a value

16:22:13 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] No game server found with IP 2130706433 or port 2326, skipping removing any server.

[..]

16:22:13 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] CancelAuthTicket called on invalid ticket

16:22:13 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] CancelAuthTicket called on invalid ticket

16:22:15 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] No game server found with IP 2130706433 or port 2326, skipping removing any server.

[..]

16:22:15 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] CancelAuthTicket called on invalid ticket

16:22:15 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] CancelAuthTicket called on invalid ticket

16:22:16 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] No game server found with IP 2130706433 or port 2326, skipping removing any server.

[..]

16:22:16 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] CancelAuthTicket called on invalid ticket

16:22:16 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] CancelAuthTicket called on invalid ticket

16:22:18 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] No game server found with IP 2130706433 or port 2326, skipping removing any server.

[..]

16:22:18 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] CancelAuthTicket called on invalid ticket

16:22:18 STEAM: STEAMWORKS: [s_API WARN] CancelAuthTicket called on invalid ticket

16:22:18 c:\w\stable\futura\lib\network\networkserver.cpp ClearNetServer:NOT IMPLEMENTED - briefing!

16:22:18 STEAM: StoreStats: Can't store stats for GamePlayed

16:22:18 STEAM: StoreStats: Can't store stats for GamePlayedDays

16:22:18 STEAM: StoreStats: Can't store stats for GamePlayedTimeStamp

16:22:18 STEAM: StoreStats: Can't store stats for TotalPlayTime

16:22:18 STEAM: StoreStats: Can't store stats for MPPlayTime

16:22:18 STEAM: StoreStats: Can't store stats for SPPlayTime

16:22:18 STEAM: StoreStats: Can't store stats for DevPlayTime

and this is a partof the serverlog

=====================================================================

== C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3 Server\arma3server.exe

== "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3 Server\arma3server.exe" -port=2326 "-config=C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3 Server\TADST\ZEUS_Bornholm_2302\TADST_config.cfg" "-cfg=C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3 Server\TADST\ZEUS_Bornholm_2302\TADST_basic.cfg" "-profiles=C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3 Server\TADST\ZEUS_Bornholm_2302" -name=ZEUS_Bornholm_2302 "-mod=@asdg_jr;@bornholm;@CBA_A3;@cse;@dar_hmmwv;@dar_mtvr;@drongosartillery;@ebu_c130;@FA18_A3;@ffis;@kyo_mh47e_a3;@mao_anims_sway_fix;@outlw_magrepack;@POMI_PMC;@psylandrover;@r3f_aicomtarget;@prpl_benellim4;@rds;@rds_civpack;@rhs_afrf3;@rhs_usf3;@sma;@sthud_a3;@task_force_radio;@us_helos_kimi;@vqi_halo;@vts_weaponresting"

Original output filename: Arma3Retail_Server

Exe timestamp: 2014/12/04 11:03:24

Current time: 2014/12/05 16:04:24

Type: Public

Branch: Stable

Version: 1.36.128579

Allocator: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3 Server\dll\tbb4malloc_bi.dll

=====================================================================

16:20:37 Error Type , expected Object

16:28:29 Warning: Cleanup player - person 4:11 not found

16:28:30 Warning: Cleanup player - person 4:11 not found

The virtual entity for the HC was added to the mission

HC has same behaviour with

-connect=localhost -port=2326 -client -name=headlessclient -enableSteamLogs -debug_steamapi +mods through arma3launcher

-connect=localhost -port=2326 -client -name=HC -profile=HC -enableSteamLogs -debug_steamapi +mods through arma3launcher

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3 Server\arma3server.exe" -connect=127.0.0.1 -port=2326 -client -nosound -name=headlessclient -mod=@CBA_A3;@dar_hmmwv;@dar_mtvr;@kyo_mh47e_a3;@POMI_PMC;@rds;@task_force_radio;@rhs_afrf3;@rhs_usf3;@ffis;@bornholm;@psylandrover;@r3f_aicomtarget;@ares;@FA18_A3;@rds_civpack;@cse;@drongosartillery;@prpl_benellim4;@sma;@asdg_jr;@ebu_c130;@mao_anims_sway_fix;@outlw_magrepack;@sthud_a3;@vqi_halo;@vts_weaponresting;@us_helos_kimi;

I feel like im poking in the dark without making any progress right now,it was working before the update ,so maybe there was something added i overlooked.Reading through the thread i saw

HG2012Trigger(post 93) talk about a GUI for the HC is there such a thing??

I would really appreciate if someone could fill me in as to what changed on the procedures to use the HC since the entry in the wiki looks like everything stayed as it was concerning mission/server startup.

Edited by subminuentisch

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To fix the disconnect problem you need to reupdate/resign your server files as some signatures were not correct. See my earlier response with the feedback post. I just completely removed the files and reinstalled them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now

×