Sign in to follow this  
bigringantics

Why Won't My Task Start?

Hi folks, I'm new to Arma 3 scripting and I'm having a problem getting a createSimpleTask command to work in a script. The relevant part of the code is below:

constantinou switchMove "Acts_Kore_IdleNoWeapon_out";
sleep 1.3;
[1,1.5,false,false] call BIS_fnc_cinemaBorder;

obj2 = kelly createSimpleTask ["task2"];
obj2 setSimpleTaskDescription ["Go to Bravo Troop's bay and meet Mako Team.","Meet Mako Team",""];
obj2 setSimpleTaskDestination (getMarkerPos "obj2Marker");
obj2 setTaskState "Assigned";

The player's unit is named kelly. Everything works until the end of the BIS_fnc_cinemaBorder line, but after the border recedes the task isn't created. Can anybody see what the problem is?

Try this format: (Write kelly instead of player)

task_1 = player createSimpleTask ["TASKNAME"];

task_1 setSimpleTaskDescription ["TASK DESCRIPTION","Example Task","WHAT WILL BE DISPLAYED ON THE MAP"];

task_1 setSimpleTaskDestination (getMarkerPos "task_1");

task_1 setTaskState "Assigned";

player setCurrentTask task_1;

credits to

Thanks Gfresco, I've got the task in-game now. The only other problem I'm having is that I don't get the notification in the top center of the screen like I do when I create a task from a trigger, any idea how to get that too?

I would recommend using Bis_fnc_taskCreate, much simpler, it should also cause the hint to pop up.

https://community.bistudio.com/wiki/BIS_fnc_taskCreate

Example from a mission of mine.

[JNA_Player,"JNA_TSK2",["Fully clear buildings to the right","Clear buildings",""],[1879,2747,0],"Assigned",0] call Bis_fnc_taskCreate;

I think that would work for you.

[Kelly,"Task_1",["DESCRIPTION","TITLE","DISPLAYED ON MAP"],(getMarkerPos "task_1"),"Assigned",0] call Bis_fnc_taskCreate;

When you say 'create task from a trigger' are you using the modules for that?