Sign in to follow this  
manfred89

Problem with 'simple' retexturing of weapon, please help

Hey all, This may seem like an obvious question to some, but I've been searching for several days now and haven't quite been able to find the answer, which may be obvious but I'm a complete novice and this is my first attempt at getting an addon into arma.

I'm trying to simply re texture an EBR rifle, the texturing aspect itself is no problem, but seeing the textures in game seems to be. I can repack and assign the rifle to a unit in the editor, and the unit looks as if he's holding the rifle - which has the correct name I assigned in the config to it displaying in the action menu, but nothing is visible. I changed the texture paths of the model in a hex tool, correctly I think as per instruction. My pbo log has this at the bottom "Creating texture headers file...Texture headers file was not created - no textures found."

My folder structure seems ok, I've included the p3d and I have textures in a data folder. I've included the config, which I based off GDSN's mx_black. There may be some glaring mistakes, I'd be grateful if someone could point them out to me? Thanks!

class CfgPatches {

class EBR_camo {

units[] = {};

weapons[] = {};

requiredVersion = 0.1;

requiredAddons[] = {"A3_Weapons_F"};

};

};

class CfgWeapons {

class EBR_base_F; // External class reference

class EBR_camo : EBR_Base_F {

model = "\ebr_camo\EBR_F.p3d";

displayName = "Woodland Camo Painted EBR";

picture = "\A3\weapons_F\LongRangeRifles\EBR\Data\UI\gear_EBR_X_CA.paa";

};

};

So you're hex editing the rifle then. Well, have you gotten permission from BI? Let's assume you have (if you haven't, you need to). Next, what's the path name of the original texture(s) and what's the pathname of the new texture(s)? Those two (or more) pathnames need to have the same number of characters. Pathnames include both folder(s) name(s) and texture(s) name(s).