Sign in to follow this  
GregP

Why do I keep losing control of my AI squad?

This may be a dumb question, as I'm fairly new to ARMA3, but I can't figure out why I keep losing control of my AI squad. After some indeterminate time in a scenario, I can no longer communicate with my squadmates nor do they show up on the ShackTac HUD. They're still there, but I can't give them orders. Is radio damage modeled, and maybe my radio is being taken out in firefights, thus preventing me from controlling my squad? If so, I would think I could see some kind of indication in my inventory screen that the radio is non-functional, but I don't.

Somewhat related -- anybody know what function has been bound to 'backspace'? What I mean is, I know it calls up complex commands, but how can I remap that to other key? I don't see any commands in the UI that seem to control this function.

100 views and no comments? Is this such an appallingly dumb question that no one wants to stoop low enough to answer? :)

Or is this something that nobody else is experiencing?

Are you sure that you are no longer in the squad, or that you are no longer in command? I have seen AI take command of the squad from you if they have a higher rank. I seems random when they decide to do it. Also the radio cannot be damaged.

Regarding backspace, it does not show any conflicts when mapped to something in the control menu, so it seems like a permanent binding. I also cannot remap 0-9.

I see this too sometimes. All squad members who used to respond stop responding to orders, or when you give them a command (like "Attack Squad Leader" or "Move West 200 m" via the map). I think if you do "Switch to unit #" and then back "Switch to leader", it comes back (or maybe after the AI squad leader issues a command). I generally consider the AI squad members to be useless cannon fodder anyway, unless they posses specialized skills/roles - engineer, medic, AT etc. that you can "Switch to".