Sign in to follow this  
mlewis1969

BattlEye: make it work for the common gamer

Making it work for the common gamer: It's complicated and not easy to use and has to be configured for every new map. It's like being told to add our own virus definitions to BattlEye when most of us don't even know the first thing about hacks or what the code looks like in the RPT file (remember, I'm not a coder). Don't you think BattlEye should be handling these definitions and updating on a regular basis and not us?

P.S. The learning curve is getting out of hand, most of us just wanna come home from work, build mission files and have fun playing the game w/o having to worry about being hacked.

Edited by mlewis1969
added post script

What? Server administration != "common gamer"...

If you're trying to host a dedicated server then you should get acquainted with the tools at hand. BE can also use a set load of definitions and rulesets in the form of .txts if I'm understanding you correctly (and my knowledge of BE). If you can't manage to run a dedi, I suggest scrapping BE and playing with your friends instead.

First of all, the "common gamer" is the player, not the server admin. And it works for the player.

Also, the script filters you are talking about are optional. You don't have to use them, you can just leave BE on and don't do anything else. This way, you don't really have any protection of scripts being executed, however you still have the basic protection of BE itself.

Also, it's not BE's job to provide fitlers for any mission or mod. Those are Admin features after all, and covering all of them is pretty much impossible anyway. The best solution is probably the mission creators supplying and updating filters together with their mission.