Sign in to follow this  
Pnubs

Geometry and Roadway Lod Help

I'm making a simple platform you can walk on and I'm having difficulties with the Geometry/Roadway Lods. I've gotten the model in game and I can land on it and walk around for the most part but there are some instances in which my character simply falls through the model. I don't understand what's going on and I've tried consulting multiple tutorials and forum posts but I can't find anything. I would greatly appreciate any help. Thanks.

Here's the link to the p3d file: http://www.2shared.com/file/BN5HpWzd/Platform.html?

P.S. I'm a noob!

OK just quickly looking at this.

1 - You're model is too big. There is a 50x50m limit for objects in the ArmA game engine. Depending on the model this can be sometime 64x64m but its better to go smaller if you can.

2 - Make sure the surface for your roadway is one fully connected (at least when its on the same level) object. Past experience has taught me that AI sometimes get trapped or fall through even the smallest seam.

3 - Lift the Roadway surface slightly above your geometry ~20mm seems to work for me. This will prevent any sliding or trapped AI.

4 - In your geometry LoD use Structure > Convexity > Component Convex Hull. Make sure you don't have any extra/un needed components. THEN, Structure > Topology > Find Non-Closed. This will find any open objects. An open object will not work properly in the Geo LoD and screws with collision detection.

I'm about to crash out for the night. Try reducing your model size and and ill check back tomorrow.

Good Luck